Just going thru the motions

• Just going thru the motions

I think this Myrie biz at the CCJ in Jam and to be continued in Barbados is just to go thru the motions. At the end of the day, the CCJ, Caricom, Barbados and Jam are headed toward some political understanding which will be meant to save face for all but will not make anyone happy. Some more enlightened behavior may result from Immigration officers. But I dont think any real spankings will be found warranted for anyone. That is a political appeasement, totally devoid of any real attempt to conclude that there was inappropriate or criminal behaviour. They will say they wish the whole thing never happened and that everyone loves everyone. Politics.

Ms Myrie will not receive much satisfaction. At the end of the day, she may actually walk away feeling more or just as traumatized as she was when she first suffered the indignity. That said, while not excusing the indignity suffered upon her, it appears that she gave some very strange answers to Bajan officials. She apparently said she was going to stay with someone who she did not give prior notice to. Maybe the intended freedom of movement of CARICOM nationals will void that argument. Maybe not. Maybe it will be re-asserted at the end of these proceedings.

Tell me though, what sensible country on the planet refuses to admit visitors for fear that their female nationals may be put at a romantic disadvantage by having to compete with visiting alien females? Bajans obviously have some serious insecurity issues.

Originally posted by Westman View Post
    Tell me though, what sensible country on the planet refuses to admit visitors for fear that their female nationals may be put at a romantic disadvantage by having to compete with visiting alien females? Bajans obviously have some serious insecurity issues.
    Either that or dem doh wah women coming into their country to sell pum pum

So....to deal with their fears about the possibility that some sale may happen, they demean the suspect, incarcerate the suspect and then repatriate the subject? I wonder what percentage of alien prostitutes in Barbados are Jmaicans? I also wonderwhat percentage of Jamaicans who visit Barbados are known to prostitute themselves in Barbados?

You are unemployed...your "host" has no idea why you came to Barbados...you did not contact your "host" before coming to Barbados...doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure that one out...

Ok.....but does that warrant a cavity search, detention in inhospitable accomodations and then repatriation? Repatriation, maybe.

Of course it doesn't...she is going to have a hell of a time proving it though...she said they didn't have on uniforms...the authorities say they have cctv footage with the accused wearing uniforms...we will see...