Venezuela's 'Comandante' Hugo Chavez dies

• Venezuela's 'Comandante' Hugo Chavez dies

"Since I haven’t failed you in these 14 years," he said, according to the Associated Press. "I promise I won’t fail you in the next presidential term.
    "Because Chavez doesn’t lie. Because Chavez doesn’t sell out. Because Chavez is the people. Because Chavez is truth. Because all of you are Chavez. We all are."

As president, Chavez created a new constitution and had the name of the country changed to the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela. He took greater control of the state-run oil company, expanded the country’s armed forces, and instituted government programs to create jobs, housing and services for the poor.
    A 2009 report by the progressive think tank Center for Economic and Policy Research found poverty was cut in half during the first decade of Chavez’s rule; child mortality fell by a third; malnutrition deaths were down by 50%; and college enrollment almost doubled.
    At the same time, one non-government report estimated Venezuela’s murder rate quadrupled while Chavez was in power. In 2012, inflation hit 18%. Accusations of corruption and nepotism dogged his administration.

Full article:

http://worldnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2...avez-dies?lite

Lee Kuan Yew should be held in awe...

good riddance hijo de puta

wait till tomorrow mi brethren.

Jamaica would give the world to be in venezuela shoes,poverty cut in half , education enrollment doubled.

The revolution continues,this man has educated and took out of poverty 2 generations! It is in latin americas interest to continue a pragmatic revolution, granted it wont be exported to others in the oil diplomacy policy,but i see no break in ties with cuba and south american allies ,it will be re worked where venezuelans gain more from the socialist agenda , in other words not much more oil to share at discount prices because the socialist bolavarian revolution will be exclusively reserved for venezuealans.

viva the revolucion.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Prefer Lee Kuan Yew methods..

1.5 % growth since independence

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What is 1.5% growth since independence ???

Isnt that what Jamaica is celebrating,freedom with an avg of 1.5 % growth since independence ,high crime , high unemployment, high poverty, high illetaracy,but man ave strength fi cuss venezuala...kissteeth .....wi lucky.

Who cussing Venezuela ??

And when I think back and remember Carlos Andres Perez, a good friend of Manley, I thought he was a great Venezuelan leader. He was a thief!

Chavez will be missed!

Yuh ah one Chiney?? Dat likkle man ah yuh God...yuh love dat til yuh tun fool.

If dat si yuh im probly spit pon yuh before im gi yuh di time ah day ...LOL

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                          good riddance hijo de puta
                          That is a solid Babylon oriented viewpoint...you will get nuff brownie points fi dat inna yuh adopted land
                          Last edited by Don1; March 6, 2013, 01:13 AM.

To be honest I can't ignore the "chinese, indian and even black professional..." chat you holier than thou Lee Kuan Yew made,I have grown to realize U should use sleep mark death.
                            Anyway,I am beginning to think the reason why you prefer Yew to Chavez is solely because of a preference for capitalism over socialism.
                            In terms of greatness, has Yew impacted nations the way Chavez has?
                            The mantra for the capitalist is privatization leads to lower prices for products.This isn't true regarding Chavez nationalizing Venezuela oil, his oil prices are the lowest.
                            Capitalism without discretion is an ugly religion.It professes that Govt should stay out of the affairs between sellers and buyers,but we know the real war is between the sellers(no where is that truer than Jamaica and the FARIN vultures).
                            What form of economic and political system is most dominant today? Why then the World's citizens are in such distress?
                            Lee Kuan Yew greatness is confined to Singapore.

To me it meant that given that the members of the majority black population, subset professional, were opposed, then the Guvvament of the day was in trouble. If the majority black guvvament could not convince important constituent in the racial majority segment, then it would be worries. Not convincing minorities is NOT as critical a barometer.

Personally, I have been to Singapore and got a better reception at the border than even coming back home to Jamaica. I had not even a hint of bad treatment in their country and felt like a respected commonwealth cousin while there. Certainly better treatment than I expect in America.

LK Yew is a far more successful leader than Chavez. It is not even in question. Chavez may have had good intention, but he was a walking disaster and most of his early competent appointments left him LOOOOONG time ago.