• MP accuses police of operating death squads

Member of Parliament accuses police of operating death squads

Member of Parliament for West Central St. Andrew, Andrew Holness, is suggesting that police death squads are operating out of the Hunts Bay Police Station.
    His claim comes in response to the alleged killing of a resident of Tower Hill in Kingston 11 by members of a police party early Thursday morning.

Speaking with the RJR News Centre, Mr. Holness claimed the incident is the fifth in recent weeks.

He has called on the Commissioner of Police to address his concern, which according him has damaged the relationship between the police and residents.

“It is worrying because all the persons who have been killed are young men who have been cornered and were shot and killed,” said Mr. Holness.

“There are allegations that some of them may have had firearms but clearly in all cases the persons were subdued and cornered and they were not taken in they were shot and killed. This is a worrying trend,”

“I am of the distinct opinion that the polie is under some form of informal instruction to kill any young man they find in terms of finding them with a firearm or even if they don’t find them with a firearm,” he continued.

According to the police 20-year-old Jermaine Brown was shot and killed in a shoot out.

A resident, who claims to have been an eyewitness, says they were at a party Thursday morning when police who were patrolling the community started firing wildly.

“We had party last night and the way I saw them dealing with him I had to run come. They shot after me I had to run. I cried ‘MURDER! MURDER! MURDER! You going to kill the man innocently’,” said the resident.

The St. Andrew South police showed our news team a firearm which they claimed was taken from Mr. Brown's body.

They say the weapon, a Yugoslavia made AK47, is the first of its kind to be found in that police division.

Well, unless one of those youths name or related to Jeptha Ford or some high society Jamaican, Holness better keep him DAMN mouth shut. Dem poe
    "n i g g a s" pon the korna nuh have no value By the way, him nuh hear say a shootout?

If dem did have Ford's status dem woulda get a buss ass and thats it.

The St. Andrew South police showed our news team a firearm which they claimed was taken from Mr. Brown's body.

They say the weapon, a Yugoslavia made AK47, is the first of its kind to be found in that police division.
      So, is that the proof being offered by the police, that Mr. Brown had a gun and was firing at them?

How about some forensic evidence?

Phensic? What do tablets have to do with it?

come on mosiah... u can do better than that... i was expecting a better response from u...

i think the mp is being irresponsible with his accusation... what do u think... i also think that if the police retreived a yugo made ak47 then it came from somewhere... i also think that it is not inconceivable that the ak47 could have been taken from brown or belonged to his group... it is also not inconceivable that he or his group might have fired upon the security... how could u demand forensic evidence without any testing being conducted...

what the security said is only a statement.... until proven otherwise, i am inclined to believe the security forces now... too much youths with machines a roam under this delusion of immortality...

too much demogoguery from the politicians... anything to secure votes...

support the security forces in general while continuing to support efforts to rid the force of corrupt cops...

I was wondering for a minute what would i do , if I was in the P.O suit ? gunfire or no gunfire , finding a youth with a A.K 47 in a violent section of Kingston.

Now I will put myself in a bigger suit , being seen as an aggessor by the community I serve , being shot at or attacked in some way by the said community and finding a youth with a A.K 47 at a dance...wow ,I dont think i would make a good police officer.

How many of you think a better job coud be done by yourselves?

Not casting any judgement just asking a question.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Its good we all can sleep peacefully at night isnt it ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
              come on mosiah... u can do better than that... i was expecting a better response from u...

i think the mp is being irresponsible with his accusation... what do u think... i also think that if the police retreived a yugo made ak47 then it came from somewhere... i also think that it is not inconceivable that the ak47 could have been taken from brown or belonged to his group... it is also not inconceivable that he or his group might have fired upon the security... how could u demand forensic evidence without any testing being conducted...

what the security said is only a statement.... until proven otherwise, i am inclined to believe the security forces now... too much youths with machines a roam under this delusion of immortality...

too much demogoguery from the politicians... anything to secure votes...

support the security forces in general while continuing to support efforts to rid the force of corrupt cops...
              Baddaz, the gun that was found at the killing ground in Krawle, where did it come from? Should we duh like you say and believe the police?

I recall listening to the IJJ when a man that called about his son, who was shot while unarmed (I guess we shouldn't believe him eeh, tek the police word as gospel), was interrupted. This bredda came on and said how all the while people a claim police brutality him alway a say a lie dem a tell and how the police a dun the best dem can .... until now. Thats the problem, only when it come pon our doorstep .. a dat deh time we waan see reality. Supporting the force does mean believing every bull dem sell us.

I'm curious, why is Holness being irresponsible? Were those mekking up noise after Ford got beatin' being irresponsible? How is it okay fi talk up fi Ford but its irresponsible fi Holness defend the people that he represents?
              Xcuse, are you a trained police officer? Suh nuh bodder wid the Xcusez.

What the MP is saying is even when persons carrying weapons are disarmed by police they are subsequently killed (murdered) after they no longer pose a threat....
                The police showing the weapon after... does not justify...., it is a smokescreen defense, baddaz.

Blessed

Not sure where you heading with gunfire or no gunfire.Equally puzzling is the part about being shot at or beaten by a COMMUNITY, my point X is you are making baseless assertions which is atypical of you , and (for all intents and purposes) it just happens to be pro police stance )

Blessed
                  Last edited by Rockman; April 15, 2007, 09:19 AM.

Refer to Rockman's statement below.

Additionally, when an MP is prepared to make such a statement, believe me, things bad!!!

Baddaz, it is not difficult to prove that extrajudicial killings take place all the time. The evidence presented in court is enuff for most sensible Jamaicans. However, the justice system, combined with a terrified populace, do a good job in acquitting murderous cops.

Did you see what our justice system did for a child abuse defendant who had good political connections?

yuh right rockman