Manley apologists.. get up to speed

• Manley apologists.. get up to speed

<In a meeting of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and in a separate interview here, Manley spoke about Jamaica's social problems, drugs, Cuba, and the Caribbean.

``We made a very serious mistake in allowing a sort of anger with US pressure'' to build up over Jamaica's relationship with Cuba, Manley says. ``An important part of my strategy that was not perceived by Washington was economic relations with the region - and that included Cuba.''

If elected, Manley says he plans to restore diplomatic ties to Cuba, but will keep them lower-profile. In other words, we probably won't see Cuban construction brigades building Jamaican schools, as happened during his earlier watch.

During his years out of office, during which he wrote a lengthy volume on cricket and has served as vice-president of the Socialist International, he traveled frequently to the States.

Now his relations with bankers and government officials here are ``infinitely better,'' he says.

Manley is also prepared for a more constructive relationship with the Jamaican private sector, which will include efforts to promote small business. His failed attempt to create state communal farms will remain a memory.

``You scratch every Jamaican under the skin and you'll find an entrepreneur dying to get out,'' he says. ``It took us [social democrats] a long time to understand this.''>

Di man did lack understanding (as extolled by Lee Kuan Yew after a 2 week visit) and brought about his and the countries demise.. ADMITTEDLY SO !

So update unnuhselves and guh find someting else fi defend..

Mi tiad fi a rehash the obvious.

With or without Babylon, his 1970s econ program me was aggo crash. It was a disaster plain and simple and he made popularity get to his head, making things worse.

On top of that folly, him compound it by jumping inna di miggle of the Cold War and tun Merka inna enemy. The BORG had no option but to tek notice and declare that resistance was futile and we did aggo get assimilated. We never even have star ship Enterprise fi fly weh at warp speed, so we get swatted and that was that.

His Social programs were on point, but dat already did setup by his Daddy, di biggah brains.

Anyway, to his credit, him tek di invitations by Daddy Bush and visit Merka as Opposition leader and repair di breach (Mi nah ask nuhboddy dis, cause biggah Sochie than everyone here tell mi dat personally, cause him did dehdeh).
    Well, When Manley come back inna 1989, he was eminently more sensible and pragmatic, and fickle fate tek him from the scene before he completed his new program which had the potential to put us far ahead of where we are today.

Why we haffi go over the obvious every so often???

ask Rockstar..

Is him confused... mussi ah look fi save Joshua legacy...

'The road to hell is paved....'