Tufton: Roger may be a good farmer, but ....

• Tufton: Roger may be a good farmer, but ....

Tufton: Roger may be a good farmer, but he's a failing minister

Opposition Senator Dr Christopher Tufton has declared that while Agriculture Minister Roger Clarke should be recognised for his track record as a farmer, he must be criticised and penalised for his stewardship in the ministry.Tufton, himself a former agriculture minister, said yesterday that since taking office, Clarke "has not articulated a clear progressive vision for the sector and even worse, he has failed to follow through on the vision and programmes left by the former government".
    Speaking at the annual general meeting of the Pineapple Growers' Association in Ginger Hill, St Elizabeth, Tufton said: "(Clarke's) tenure so far has done little to serve the interests of the farmers of Jamaica and the national goal to reduce food imports and to boost exports."
    The former minister accused Clarke of abandoning a number of critical programmes because they were started by the former administration and, in the case where programmes were kept, the progress of implementation has slowed and in many cases stopped altogether.
    According to Tufton, despite Clarke's affable demeanour, he is too political for the good of the sector.
    "It appears that the first thing the minister did when he took the ministry was to embark on a witch hunt to get rid of or isolate people who he felt or was told were not politically supportive. In many cases, these were just perceptions and he ended up sidelining good talent who understood the vision for the ministry and the sector, causing delays in programme implementation and in some cases an outright abandonment of critical reforms."
    Further, according to Tufton, Clarke seemed more interested in finding a scandal around every corner, crying wolf where none were present, and in the process disrupting the smooth transition and continuity of things that were working for the sector.
    Tufton posed several questions which he said Clarke has an obligation to answer in the interest of the Jamaican farmers and consumers.

Tufton's questions to Roger Clarke
    What has happened to the commodity board review intended on restructuring these traditional organisations for greater efficiency and value-added production through more private-sector leadership and investment?
    What has happen to the rice project which was intended to reduce the country's dependence on approximately 100,000 tons of imports annually?
    What has happened to the farmers' markets designed to address gluts, the production and productivity programme to improve productivity, the Irish potato and onion import substitution projects, the agricultural land use and risk management programmes that were all a work in progress before the change of government?

Heh heh!

The irony! One Turd - he was a failed businessman but our best MOF in years!

Nuh true, Lazie!?

Woooiieee!!! Mi belly!

You use to tell me that Roger was as good as Tufton. You still hold that opinon?

He is no worse!

Heh heh!

The irony! One Turd - he was a failed businessman but our best MOF in years!

Nuh true, Lazie!?

Woooiieee!!! Mi belly!

Unuh nuh serious. What I see happening is you comrades would rather struggle under a PNP gov't that see the nation move forward under a JLP gov't. The amusing thing is that its you people that love to call others tribalist. Y'all need to look in the mirror.

the numbers certainly not saying that right now. Let us see Roger get the numbers up.

Stop support almshouse..

Tufton is leaps and bounds ahead of Roger Clarke..

Time unnuh stop di political dollyhouse behavior.. what yuh benefit from it ?

Yuh ah get a Govt wuk ?

If yuh guh big school and cyaan tell the difference between Roger Clarke and Tufton.. what is the point of our democracy ?

I find Jamaican politics very petty.......trivial. Or so the ministers make it appears to me.

There are no bold initiatives.

And "we" the people run wild with the frivolity, to the point of destroying personal relationships.

Oh, wanna bet someone ax about the sequester?

I find Jamaican politics very petty.......trivial. Or so the ministers make it appears to me.

There are no bold initiatives.

And "we" the people run wild with the frivolity, to the point of destroying personal relationships.

Oh, wanna bet someone ax about the sequester?
                  Do you have a problem with what Tuffon said?

It cut both ways Lazie.

I think the Jamaican term is victimization(?).

Through the years, good ideas by one party--are always scuttled by the incoming government. This result in vast waste of money.

I tried very hard not to call [all of] them stupid:

You really have a sickness.

Dr. Me, what do you think is wrong with me?

I think he is saying Roger is worse.

LoL

No.. di man is saying Roger Clarke is no worse than Tufton..

If yuh cyaan si how effective Tufton was as Minister of Farming.. yuh juss plain blind.. wuss dan di man who vote fi a plate a curry goat.. him juss hungry..