Babylon speaks of Jamaica's economy..1940s-1980s

Show me the drive to actually drive income with huge increase in public spending and larger public sector.
    "Ah suh di ting set...naive politics from Manley"

Maybe naive but the thing go hand in hand as the state will bend and break. No effort was may to sell the income in return and private enterprises who objected in anyway was branded enemy.

Show me where the effort was made to sell a Scandanavia style system? Maybe the people would have bought it.

We have to look at the mindset of the people from both nations,the people of Singapore because of their history(pre independence)were accustomed to being dictated to, whereas as we Yardees were already entrenched in the belief of inherent rights.
      Also,if the surreptitious attacks on the Manley's leadership was guised as attacking inevitable authoritarian rule how could he imposed the stern austerity measures that came hand in hand with Lew Kuan Yew policies(for Singapore) given the climate at the time?
      It is an invidious comparison.

Yuh can care all yuh want.. if yuh nuh have di cash is just talk yuh talking..

The PNP loves poor people..

Read my response to Maudib below,it likely had everything to do with geographic location, mindset of the population,and the prevailing climate.

I have read on Gadaffi and have also listen to some of his good speaches as well as some of his ranting. I am more interested in the economics rather than the politics.

Austerity ?? Dictated tuh ?? ah wheh di ?!

Look like yuh need tuh duh some reading..

'Entrenched in the belief of inherent rights' ?? lol ! woiee !

Yuh mean like the Suppression of Crimes Act ? Bredrin.. stap chat rubbish pon di forum.. tap defend di indefensible.. it will tun yuh innah eediat.

Is Critical Thinking run dis ting.. not Quixotic forays and populism.. Critical Thinking..

Why di Puss&^(claut Jamaica Economy set a world Record in incompetence..

Wi ah talk bout Singapore.. pick any effing country yuh want !

Cut the apologist crap.. please..

No..it had to do with this:

<Prime Minister Michael Manley, a light-skinned West Indian, presided with panache and spoke with great eloquence. But I found his views quixotic. He advocated a redistribution of the world's wealth. His country, a well-endowed island, ... with several mountains in the centre, where coffee and other subtropical crops are grown. They had beautiful holiday resorts built by Americans as winter homes ... . Chinese, Indians and even black Jamaican professionals felt there was no future under the left-wing socialist government of Michael Manley. The policies of the government were ruinous ... . Thereafter, I read the news of Jamaica with greater understanding.">

It tek him 2 weeks.. you going wrong and strong now fi bout 2 Decades or suh wid yuh 'Geographic location, mindset of the population and the prevailing climate'

Maybe it is a matter of intelligence...

Lee was quite a intelligent fellow..

Why the opposition to paying our Govt officials top dollars and added perks( brand new SUV's)if Lew Kuan Yew encouraged it in order to attract the best people, and to stem corruption?Different times right?
                  For Manley to do the very things that his staunch, unrelenting detractors(policy-wise) allege would be suicidal.

When you are through with your distractions; please address the fact that Eddie failed also. Care to comment that private entities suddenly dropped out in mining and oil forcing your party to become socialist? Yuh really tink is Lee that was calling the shots over there? Yuh read without comprehension. Yuh don't grasp this global chessboard, don't?

Why was China given most favoured trading status by the US? Why did the west move some of their wealth to China? Yuh notice Russia still struggling to be somebody in this global dance? Gwaan sit an roun up yuh mouth.

No with intelligence I expect him to be more analytic.
                      ..."...and even black Jamaica professional..."doesn't jump out at you?
                      Quite frankly, I would never know that Yew intelligence was limited if only he had kept is BIG mouth shut rather than talking nonsense about Michael Manley and Jamaicans.

When yuh not really running di show yuh haff nuf time. Follow the money: check where all the trade deals came from. Who was really setting up sop there. Notice Eddie did stop tek orders and him get shafted.

Okay you are right and I am wrong. I am outflanked. Now please address the premise of the article. Thanks.

Meaning even the "indigenous" population that Manley was supposed to be "for", felt that there was no future under his regime...you sounding rather Al Sharptonish now enuh

The oil profits ensured that his people lived better than any other nation anywhere, housing, healthcare and education were easily provided with the profits....
                              Profits from oil was appropriated to the bank accounts of his people.
                              His parents never had a higher standard of living than the common man.
                              His interest in Africa was really altruistic,is this the man you thought you know?

Not so, I came away with black people are more accepting,certainly of things a Chinese or Indian wouldn't.