Babylon speaks of Jamaica's economy..1940s-1980s

you don't think they were targeted? You think China stood by at the time?

You have to learn to swim with the tide and grow. You can't follow policies where the state is the main employer and don't encourage private enterprise in many areas.

You can't divid state asset without a sense of reposiblilty to pay back something in the states kitty. It is going to take you down steep sloop.

Did you do the research on Gaddafi?
      The difference between Russia and China is Russia was one of two super powers,Russia's removal leaves only one.
      Immediately after the fall of Russia, who benefitted the most?The vultures that were laying in wait(foreign companies divvy up what ever flesh that remained.
      It has nothing to do with democracy, communism, capitalism, socialism,black or white, green is the only thing of importance.
      Do the research, it is perspective changing.

"Immediately after the fall of Russia, who benefitted the most?The vultures that were laying in wait(foreign companies divvy up what ever flesh that remained."

What do you expect? When others fall people dived in.
        It has a lot to do with economics more than politics but you don't intend to see that.

what are the sectors of the Libya economy that Gaddafi build other than oil? This created a state depenency which eventually was his downfall.

Suh if yuh want to pay Don Quixote and paint a bullseye pon yuh back.. AH WHOFFA FAULT DAT ?!!

Bout non-aligned.. lol ! woiee !

I ask again.. What were Lee Kuan Yew's policies.. yuh should know dem by heart if yuh have any interest in how to move a 3rd World country to First World status..

It takes cash to care..

LOL.. state dependency was Gaddafi's downfall??

Nope...im juss neva balance di two (or three) side dem right

Bad political management...i.e. like a Manley on a huge dose of steroids

First it takes caring...then cash

One without the other is useless

you notice I said "You will clearly see that the kind of socialism". Manley made it clear he didn't want "certain investors" and made sure the state divided the assets without getting revenue in return.

Do you realise Scandanavia is very generous in benefits but they are some of the highest tax rates in the world????

Maybe China measures were inherently mild, certainly way short of the unprecedented onslaught we faced,and less organized too.
                    People get robbed every day but I have never been robbed,what are the chances that I will be the fish in the barrel that gets snared?
                    Albeit the fish that got snared was perfectly entitled to the same odds I found comforting.

Let me make a calculated guess, you haven't done the research? Nuh suh me bredrin.

Gaddafi didn't build any other industry and people eventually get tired of the little hand out and pick and choose. State money can only stretch so far.

Yeah also bad political management plus any good leader know why to hold it and when to fold it.

I know that...which is why your earlier reference to the Soviet Union's communist system in juxtaposition with Manley is misplaced

All I'm pointing out to you is that his inflammatory rhetoric aside...what Manley was doing in Jamaica was not fundamentally different from what's practiced in Scandinavia...a mixed economy, high taxes on private capital funding large social programs and state participation in the productive sector

His big problem was a large ego...driving much silly political rhetoric . This scared the selfish little local elites and antagonized Babylon unnecessarily...causing capital flight, disinvestment and CIA inspired violence

The resulting meltdown was largely due to the inevitable US destabilization combined with local elites(no way would they have succeed). Ultimately it was Manley's responsibility to manage those issues better...he didn't.

Ah suh di ting set...naive politics from Manley

Gaddafi didn't build any other industry and people eventually get tired of the little hand out and pick and choose. State money can only stretch so far.

Yeah also bad political management plus any good leader know why to hold it and when to fold it.
                            It was not Libya's economy which brought him down....it was French and American warplanes bombing his army and arms supplied to his opponents by Babylon ...that's politricks...not economics

Come now Sass...surely yuh up to speed wid dat

you think so? Maybe the difference is leadership. Singapore certainly don't think so as they saw China as an enemy. Tell that to Taiwan.

yeah but Gaddafi lost a lot of solid support of his people. You can only hand out to people so long.