• T&T men found gagged and burnt in vehicle

T&T men found gagged and burnt in vehicle
    Soldiers to get police powers as crime escalates
    Saturday, March 02, 2013 | 10:40 AM

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad (CMC) – Trinidad and Tobago police were seeking to determine whether the burnt bodies found in a car in the heights of Arima on Friday were that of cousins Jerome and Dale Ramsahai.
    Police have asked relatives for dental and DNA samples to confirm the identities of the bodies that were found in the vehicle, but relatives fear the worse as neither man has been heard from since the gruesome discovery.

The discovery of the bodies pushed the death toll so far this year to 80 as the coalition People’s Partnership government Friday announced plans to give members of the Defence Force powers of arrest similar to police officers as part of a strategy to deal with the escalating crime situation in Trinidad.
    National Security Minister Austin ‘Jack’ Warner said the government intends to bring legislation that would lead to the “abolition of jury trial for blood crimes or violent crimes” and also to make possession of firearms a non-bailable offence.
    “One bond that unites us is to wage war against the criminals,” Warner said as he appealed for opposition support for the measures insisting that the Kamla Persad Bissessar government has no intention of establishing "some esoteric parallel Police Service" or militarising Trinidad and Tobago.
    He said the move to give soldiers the legal backing is nothing new in the Commonwealth and other countries, making references to India and Northern Ireland.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2MN4GTUwi

What do Trinidadians feel about the new measures to be put in place to combat crime?

I think we need to follow suit. Why is our army being trained only to defend this country against foreign forces?!?! We need our soldiers to have more powers, including that of arrest.

As for the jury issue, we should have gotten rid of that in some cases long ago since our jurors can come under so much threat from gunmen.

And some crimes should not be bailable! All gun crimes, for instance!

Why are we not doing all we can to really put another serious dent in our war against crime?!? Don't make me send out Hero Peter again!

So what H. Peter doing bout it now? Steeeupps. Stop give out titles till they deserve it.

I love your suggestions (I have been saying to break out the mechanized divisions and swarm garrisons for years - total lockdown as all inhabitants get processed and categorized) BUt our 'ticians nuh have nuh balls.

...break out the mechanized divisions and swarm garrisons for years - total lockdown as all inhabitants get processed and categorized) BUt our 'ticians nuh have nuh balls.
        In total agreement, but we have to be careful about abuses.

We need to also get tough on those who bring in guns and ammo.

Talk bout dat - whatever happened to the big men we were supposed to hear about after that big gun find at the port?!??

Easy to have balls on a keyboard.

True dat...all of it. We also have to police the poise, cuase some tek steps and others mixed up. One rule for all.

Easier to shug shoulders and support slackness.

Your simplistic spurtings are not realistic Willi. Locking down garrisons and have 'inhabitants' processed are so classist and typical.

The ROOT of the drug and gun problems are not the garrisons - they are the symptoms of more endemic problem in Jamaican culture - who is going to lock down uptown and process the real Dons? Who is going to charge the tainted politicians and business people...and their facilitators before the drugs and guns reach the so-called garrisons?

All needs to be done, Exile. There must be a lockdown from uptown to downtown. That's why I said, "We need to also get tough on those who bring in guns and ammo." Is not di likkle man doing this on his own.

That's why we need to strengthen and encourage INDECOM and the OCG.

Those are the questions we are all seeking answers to.

All ah dem fi get deal with, but the obvious first is the on the street army that carries out the killings and cause the headlines that petrify ordinary law abiding cities and cow down the good people in the poorer areas.

No concern about how things looks, it should be a strategic dismantling of the entire network, with different actions needed for different parts.

What you call simplistic, I call radically different, which is what we need now. Same old same old naaah wuk. Eventually everyone will be processed....from King to commoner.

Do you want back Jamaica or not?

We have created a KILLING machine in most if not all Ghetto and no amount of top-toeing around the issue will change that fact.

We too old fi a wish upon stars....

Thats why i keep saying our problems are endemic and pervasive where it breaches and crosses all institutions .We cant keep thinking the militarization of the crime problem is a solution it will only protect the elitist interest (HELLLLO JFJ ) where they pay lip service to kanagrro representatives of justice .Our solution needs a holistic approach you cant talk about extrajudical kiilings and not talk about social issues ,corruption , contracts ,garrisons ,JFJ,PNP,JLP,Judicial,Land reform governance ,its an end result of........

Charting Jamaica’s Economic and Social Development”, I started by looking at the macroeconomic numbers since 1962, hoping to find the problem with Jamaica by analyzing the numbers. My conclusion led me to the reality that the problem with Jamaica, and by extension the Caribbean, was not to be found in the numbers but rather the constitutional political system. The UK did us a grave injustice when they left us with the Westminster system of governance.
                        Last edited by Sir X; March 3, 2013, 08:45 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You will never be able to do half the good JFJ does. If JFJ folds tomorrow and you live to be Jamaica's Methuselah, you will never measure up to that organisation.

Best yuh just leave dem alone.

A placebo affect can never substitue for addressing the real problem ,it will continually haunt you .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Don't get me wrong..we need drastic efforts, just that it can't be one-sided...it's not about how it looks. X has a more holistic view on it...like I said the murders are just the end-point that we see, while it's just collateral damage to the wider drug and corruption issues.