What kill Tourism in Portland???
No Portland Tourism is killed because of lack of representation. By the the 2000 came around not even 1 ship was going to Port Antonio.
The forces that be stood by and let Ochi, Leo Windman and crew took away all the ship. Until Portlanders get serious no ship will go back to Portland. The mentality is "We are the best, people will come". The drain started under Anthony Abrahams who was MP and Minster of Tourism and didn't care much. From there on, show me any real effort by the MP for East Portland, Chamber of Commerce, Cruise shipping association, central government to bring it back?
Maybe craft vendors and JUTA drivers should have blocked road. Seems like that is the only language understood.
Falmouth never killed Ochi or Mobay as predicted by some.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostFalmouth never killed Ochi or Mobay as predicted by some.
Yes, I think Portland rested on its laurels for too long. Not necessarily the Portlanders, but all of us loved to talk about how naturally beautiful the parish was without doing anything to really enhance visitorship (word go suh?) to this paradise.
yeah Mo Falmouth dented Ocho and Mobay. Ochi recovering well. I was in Titchfield and you know every ship came in I we saw, They passed within a mile of the school. I remember well but I can remember the Ochi Cruise Ship Association led by Wineman(sp) would address every single issue they had back then in Ochi regarding to shipping.
We had nothing, nobody to meet with the cruiseliners, no local body to address issues and until today none. We can try but you hae some people in posts there who have no real incentives to do anything. Sad but it seems only outsider can shake up anything.
It funny how both candidate for East Portland in the last election didn't make tourism a platform in their last election.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I am not sure on the specifics but we had big ships until the mid 80s. Money could be spend on this as Port Antonio has a dual habour and they must be able to do one of them.
Currently there are still some ships that pass through once in a blue moon so even if they can't get the largest liners if they target the right cruises they should be ok and build from there.
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ews/news1.html
Interesting read.Last edited by Assasin; March 2, 2013, 11:07 AM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
As I told you Tony Abrahams was the first minister of Tourism under Seaga and he was also the MP for East Portland. You think he would have gotten something done. It has been dying since then. You still have some labourites with big position since then doing nothing, and since then some PNP and them join force.
Vaz a West Portland(less of tourism) but only him seems to be going against the status quo.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Yeah problem is that them cruisers getting bigger not smaller, to mek the economics right that is the trend, other wise the small business is more upscale, infrequent and harder to get.
You ever take a look at Windjammer cruises, when you get a chance look. They have these cruises but is more intimate, sailing vessels stopping in at some smaller ports etc, really a different side.
A nice one for jamaica if we could get someone interested like a Windjammer would be a sample jamaica, see another side tour , so port Antonio, port royal, treasure beach or black river, lucea and say laughing waters beach to top it off.
thanks for the info. Will take a look. In the 90s they made the decision to go after the high end Yacht market but no marketing was done. Some of the money spent could have been spent to upgrade the port.
Will take a look at the WindJammer. Would love to pass on that info if I can but I don't know a lot of agressive people who will try and take advantage.
It is alway, "yeah man it a come back see Lee chin buy..., see Butch buy... or some German etc buy" never an initative from the people of Portland while our brightest youngsters continue to migrate to Kingston and Ochi.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostIt is alway, "yeah man it a come back see Lee chin buy..., see Butch buy... or some German etc buy" never an initative from the people of Portland while our brightest youngsters continue to migrate to Kingston and Ochi.
No man a di not so bright ones dat
But no worry, watch for the return of the prodigal sons.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
A nuh so it go Mo. Always work with groups even in my absent. Can't say I have done more in absentee but have tried. More to come, One big problem is to find people with passion on the ground to carry through half of what they promise and the same time realise that it is not all about immediate money.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.