I remember on a trip to Jamaica sometime around 2006 to 2007 I visit my friend’s mother who as like a mother to me. She had all the 800 numbers for the police on her fridge. She told me she did because she didn’t trust the local police and would call the 800 number if she had to.
A few years later after visiting her again it was gone and she told me if she sees a crime she wouldn’t report it as she would fear for her life. I said I don’t see why you shouldn’t and she replied “The police them set the badman them on us.” She said if I report it, more than likely the badman will come looking for her. She asks “who tell them?” The said she wants to live out her retired days.
Sitting by the community center with a brethren. The main road was right by the center. I saw some police drive up and was having some spot check, with guns etc. They stopped a few cars and I said you have more police presence than before and my friend said “they stop who they want”. I was there for the next hour watching and cars speeding 70 miles an hour plus just beep the police and went about their businesses while others just barely over the limit is stopped.
Now this is rural crime Portland/St. Mary where crime is not such a big problem and the people can’t trust the police now think about where Lotto money, political money, drugs money etc. are running.
Ah Bwoy we have a very long way to go.
A few years later after visiting her again it was gone and she told me if she sees a crime she wouldn’t report it as she would fear for her life. I said I don’t see why you shouldn’t and she replied “The police them set the badman them on us.” She said if I report it, more than likely the badman will come looking for her. She asks “who tell them?” The said she wants to live out her retired days.
Sitting by the community center with a brethren. The main road was right by the center. I saw some police drive up and was having some spot check, with guns etc. They stopped a few cars and I said you have more police presence than before and my friend said “they stop who they want”. I was there for the next hour watching and cars speeding 70 miles an hour plus just beep the police and went about their businesses while others just barely over the limit is stopped.
Now this is rural crime Portland/St. Mary where crime is not such a big problem and the people can’t trust the police now think about where Lotto money, political money, drugs money etc. are running.
Ah Bwoy we have a very long way to go.