I am inviting serious opinion here.
To me, even the most ROCKSTONE labourite with even a modicom of good sense and who is not excessively self interested MUST be pulling for her to have at least minimal success. Why? Simple, Jam is clearly at a crossroads and as the Bar sign says CREDIT DEAD. So a downward spiral would mean there is nothing to inherit.
Current situation: Sliding NIR and FX rate. General apathy, fear of the near term and long term. Opulent politicians and overtaxed public. Comparatively dried up remittances. A real winter of discontent and the Spring looks set to be worse. Too much taxes, so di new Papa Tax is PP. Raided NHT. Gas gone up.
Background: PNP hyped up expectations to win elections. Fair enuff, that is what Ticians do, BUT they kept the hype going for far too long after the polls victory (both general and local). Promises of balancing lives, of quick IMF deals, of good times with Jam 50 celebrations & Olys, of replacing wicked and uncaring admins, of red herrings like Republican status, reviewing buggary laws, openness and constant communication (Portia yet to do a proper press interview), nuff hyped up mouths to feed and with the UNNECESSARY super win in the local polls, FAR too many mouths open to feed.
Wrong/dumb moves: Promising early imf deal, defending business class travel and criss SUVs, overbloating the Cabinet and persisting with neophytes and non-performers, refusing to set example and lead from the front by symbolically making PERSONAL sacrifices to align motives and interest with the population...while begging the popn. to make even more sacrifices, nicodemus type tax impositions after fake consultation. There are a few more, but unno get the message...
Assets at their disposal: Surprisingly bouyant tourism, mega projects by the Chinese and US like the Dry Dock, Flemings airport expansion, Logistics hub (Vernamfield, Port of KGN, rail links, Spin off business, Free zone opportunities, etc), USD$700m garbage to energy project, Port expansion to capture Panama Canal opportunities, rare earth mineral exploitation, Oil and gas offshore possibilities, and untold opportunities we all have heard whispers of in private. I dont even talk about serious Agro prospects yet!
How in the name of all that is good, with these assets they have, they have managed to get themselves into this mess? It can only be considered to be deliberate, as random chance should put them in a better place than they are today. I cannot see the GOJ surviving 3 more years at this rate and I cannot see a good outcome for Jam if they fail. By June at this rate, I expect social unrest and crime to explode.
I cannot imagine that Portia does not care about her legacy and would want acollapse on her watch. I dont understand why she has not taken the lead from the front with correct symbology, not reached out to all members of the Jakan family in good faith and trust and ask that we all come together to not only weather the storm, but figger out how we get back on the slow, long path to prosperity. We can do it, we have the assets and Massa God has dropped Panama and rare earth geopolitics in our laps. All this will be for naught if we allow the country to collapse in the interim.
Comments please!!!
To me, even the most ROCKSTONE labourite with even a modicom of good sense and who is not excessively self interested MUST be pulling for her to have at least minimal success. Why? Simple, Jam is clearly at a crossroads and as the Bar sign says CREDIT DEAD. So a downward spiral would mean there is nothing to inherit.
Current situation: Sliding NIR and FX rate. General apathy, fear of the near term and long term. Opulent politicians and overtaxed public. Comparatively dried up remittances. A real winter of discontent and the Spring looks set to be worse. Too much taxes, so di new Papa Tax is PP. Raided NHT. Gas gone up.
Background: PNP hyped up expectations to win elections. Fair enuff, that is what Ticians do, BUT they kept the hype going for far too long after the polls victory (both general and local). Promises of balancing lives, of quick IMF deals, of good times with Jam 50 celebrations & Olys, of replacing wicked and uncaring admins, of red herrings like Republican status, reviewing buggary laws, openness and constant communication (Portia yet to do a proper press interview), nuff hyped up mouths to feed and with the UNNECESSARY super win in the local polls, FAR too many mouths open to feed.
Wrong/dumb moves: Promising early imf deal, defending business class travel and criss SUVs, overbloating the Cabinet and persisting with neophytes and non-performers, refusing to set example and lead from the front by symbolically making PERSONAL sacrifices to align motives and interest with the population...while begging the popn. to make even more sacrifices, nicodemus type tax impositions after fake consultation. There are a few more, but unno get the message...
Assets at their disposal: Surprisingly bouyant tourism, mega projects by the Chinese and US like the Dry Dock, Flemings airport expansion, Logistics hub (Vernamfield, Port of KGN, rail links, Spin off business, Free zone opportunities, etc), USD$700m garbage to energy project, Port expansion to capture Panama Canal opportunities, rare earth mineral exploitation, Oil and gas offshore possibilities, and untold opportunities we all have heard whispers of in private. I dont even talk about serious Agro prospects yet!
How in the name of all that is good, with these assets they have, they have managed to get themselves into this mess? It can only be considered to be deliberate, as random chance should put them in a better place than they are today. I cannot see the GOJ surviving 3 more years at this rate and I cannot see a good outcome for Jam if they fail. By June at this rate, I expect social unrest and crime to explode.
I cannot imagine that Portia does not care about her legacy and would want acollapse on her watch. I dont understand why she has not taken the lead from the front with correct symbology, not reached out to all members of the Jakan family in good faith and trust and ask that we all come together to not only weather the storm, but figger out how we get back on the slow, long path to prosperity. We can do it, we have the assets and Massa God has dropped Panama and rare earth geopolitics in our laps. All this will be for naught if we allow the country to collapse in the interim.
Comments please!!!