I said it Mosiah, Like it or not. I don't have to argue with you. I SAID IT.
Serious question...does Portia WANT to fail
I posted up above my feeling from IMF in sept 2010. Stop trying to make me out to be what I am not. I have my own opinions.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by X View PostThe fact is leave the bloody word fact alone ,you abuse it until its scared whenever you whisper its name!
You think the IMF loan is going to lead to some form of stability ? everyone says no ! what will lead to stability is an economic plan , didnt WILLI list them to you havent others listed them , export or die have you heard that some where before , didnt Butch say waiting for the IMF isnt a solution to our problemns, what did Clarke speak on.....what bloody stability will this flipping Loan IMF deal have without an economic plan like Butch & CO speak about , The ports , The Airdome , EXports or DIE (industry) , Minerals etc , dealing with corruption, do I need to present one ,when more learned men in the private sector has , are you lucid ?...you call an average of 1.5% growth in 30 years stability the worst in the carribbean and central america , only beaten by Haiti the highgest gdp in the region 140 %
Thursday talk
Published: Thursday | February 21, 2013 0 Comments
Employees will feel the pinch1. Some are predicting tough times ahead as they say, as happened the first time around, those in the private sector who will be taking a cut from JDX2, will recoup those losses by silently reducing their workforce. They are predicting wholesale redundancies and layoffs, but all to be done quietly, so it will be the masses who will be bearing the brunt of all the adjustments to come!
Phew!
2. A number of those in the JLP are saying they are happy not to be the Government at this time, as not only are we facing clear and present financial danger, there will be some bitter medicine to administer and better that the PNP administer the medicine and then they come in later to provide the sugar-coated placebo.
Reality monopolised
3. Observers say it's like monopoly - you get a 'get out of jail' card. The only difference being this time the player did not have to go to jail and the monies paid were the equivalent of the card.
PM must make big-time shuffle
4. Some political pundits are saying the prime minister should take a leaf out of Opposition Leader Andrew Holness' book and shuffle not only her deck of ministers, but go further by shuffling her deck of advisers and some of the supposed technocrats and civil servants. They say, until she does, there will be no meaningful change to positively impact on the life of her support base and the country on a whole, as some of those entrusted with policy direction and implementation have demonstrated a lack of understanding of their portfolio responsibilities and/or the political unwillingness to move forward.
Negril, no problem
5. Stories going around town that the Negril development is in trouble are being attributed to dirty tricks by the competition. Word is everything is in place for an on-time completion and handover to purchasers!
Violations abound
6. Word is no official approval was given for the building of the 'Great Wall'. Some say no surprises here, however, as there were instances in the past where the approval given was used to contravene all known and accepted building codes and permits and nothing was done to correct the violations because of the relationship between the 'violater' and the Government. They say now that there has been a change in the status quo, they hope it will be treated differently.
Ain't seen nothin' yet
7. Quote of the Week: "If you think things were bad before the new announced tax measures, wait til they kick in."
Willi, no leader of any nation can outsmart the IMF, the real question is whether we should sign an agreement to begin with yet the prevailing scrutiny is not signing it in a timely manner.
Some are quick to say we are lazy(must be something passed down from slavery),yet the hard work of Jakans was clearly the reason domestic industries were vibrant. That sector has been erased and the few that remain are severely undermined.
When are we going to make the correlation between the IMF deals and our domestic industries demise?
The PNP is a disgrace to the legacy of Michael Manley.
Its not the IMF I was talking about, rather the later concept of Babylon.
We can and must outsmart them for want of a better word. We need to take their deal, conform to their tests, BUT at the same time release our own enterprises that will catapult us out from under the burdens these traps place us in. We can do this with focus, innovation, support, planning and inspiration.
Lazy? In the US, we are among the most industrious migrants with the 3 job syndrome!
It is a noble thought to be witty with the IMF but we both now we have absolutely ZERO chance of ever accomplishing that,this is a walk in the park for the IMF.The IMF objectives are already being met even without ink meeting paper,when that occurs it will be making the onslaught official,and we both know the IMF will get EXACTLY what it wants.
The stipulations(by design) attached to the IMF loans guarantee Jamaica will be ineffective in helping itself.
We are royally screwed.
A tell yuh rock , I spoke with a brethren on the rock , word is do the deal and hope that we can get another loan or extension somewhere to stretch out di madness ,he told me straight Jamaica isn't producing anything to get out of this debt, so that is the plan...flipping loans!THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
what did we accomplish between 1996 and 2010 after we paid off the IMF?
The root problem is our leaders and not the IMF.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
That maybe true but that doesn't excuse the IMF from being a vampire , unless you believe they are not , and that seems to be our biggest difference.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
In addition to that not having a contract with the IMF does not mean the stifling stipulations of other agreements ended, they remained in tact,our farmers can attest to that;it is more expensive to manufacture powder milk than liquid milk..., govt subsidies are no longer just ill-advised it is simple not possible giving the aftermath(economic contraints) of previous IMF deals, yet our Farmers have to compete with FARIN farmers whose profit is solely from govt subsidies they received abroad.