• Everyday man come pon ya a Bash Butch

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...ewart_13671182

Them leff out the positive talk when him a try rally support for a PNP government.

Gwaaan Talk Butch.

Or just looking for more breaks?

whatever it is, call a spade a spade. You can't chastise him only when him say something positive about the other side only.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        Or just looking for more breaks?
        The king of crony capitalism.

Develop a World Class Brand... that's a fact..

One of the few Jamaica has ever produced and exported..

Funny thing dat fI true, I donT know how many people Sandals employ but I would venture that Butch and his companies probably employ more Jamaicans from a wider cross section of Jamaican society than most companies in jamaica. Probably pays a better dime than most, probably gives better training than any of the local companies so that a person who leaves Sandals would probably have a good shot at other places. Earns more foreign exchange than probably any Jamaican company, as a matter of fact many f the companies we laud such as grace Kennedy probably eat more fx than they actually earn which is an upside down proposition for jamaica, jamaica needs companies that are either net fx earners or produce goods that can compete against imported foreign goods thus eliminating the need to use scarce fx resources to buy these goods.

We need fI stop cuss Butch and try fi do 1/10 th of what Butch has done, if every one of us was doing that in jamaica or impacting ja at that level, each of us just on this particular forum jamaica would be thriving. I am no Butch supporter but the man tek mickle and tun into Nuff muckle employ Nuff people and create something out of nothing, when any of us can do that then we can chat.

Butch is in business to make money. We seem to be quite hostile to those who are great achievers in Jamaica, and who are not of the "right" color.

Wow. Good post Stonigut.

I am no Butch waggonist either and clearly at times he has used his power and influence to take advantage of situations that were not in the countries best interest BUT if one should judge the mans record in its entirety it must be a net positive.

BTW It would be interesting to find out if your comment about Grace Kennedy being a net fx spender is still true. It probably still is but they do still manufacture quite a bit and provide services that are useful and beneficial even if they are not all fx earning, not to mention jobs.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                  Funny thing dat fI true, I donT know how many people Sandals employ but I would venture that Butch and his companies probably employ more Jamaicans from a wider cross section of Jamaican society than most companies in jamaica. Probably pays a better dime than most, probably gives better training than any of the local companies so that a person who leaves Sandals would probably have a good shot at other places. Earns more foreign exchange than probably any Jamaican company, as a matter of fact many f the companies we laud such as grace Kennedy probably eat more fx than they actually earn which is an upside down proposition for jamaica, jamaica needs companies that are either net fx earners or produce goods that can compete against imported foreign goods thus eliminating the need to use scarce fx resources to buy these goods.

We need fI stop cuss Butch and try fi do 1/10 th of what Butch has done, if every one of us was doing that in jamaica or impacting ja at that level, each of us just on this particular forum jamaica would be thriving. I am no Butch supporter but the man tek mickle and tun into Nuff muckle employ Nuff people and create something out of nothing, when any of us can do that then we can chat.
                  Just to say: I left GK in 1990. - 20+ years ago - and the aim then was to be a net earner of foreign exchange. Off the top of my head I do not remember where GK is today in that regard.

I know you are not knocking GK but it is good to remember that GK started off as mere distributor - buy an sell base (buy, mark-up then sell) - in a society (country) where honestly there was (still is?) no manufacturing anchor outside of sugar and bauxite/alumina. Currently GK is in an ongoing effort to increase export of locally produced products.

GK does not say this but it is obvious that in its thrust for market-share outside of the island it is being forced to supplement local production of "our local grown, manufactured" products as market-share grows the ability of our locals to supply in sufficient quantities presents "order filling hurdles".
                  Last edited by Karl; February 21, 2013, 11:04 AM.

One of the best managed Jamaican companies without a doubt.

How you come to that realization? Because its successful?

Uhmmm...yes

Well yes, that does count for something. LOL.

Other than that they have always been a very dynamic and innovative company with a strong management team. They are a leader when it comes to investment in technology and modern business practices.

Do you disagree?

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post

Good post!
                            Boss take on Butch's impact!

Gwaan Butch!!