This not a fete in here - is madness!!!!
Maybe another State of Emergency is in the cards from PM Persad-Bissessar?
Can civility be only brought to murderous countries thru a police state?Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
The first SOE didn't work...just like in Jamaica, gun crimes and major criminality associated with the cocaine trade...if yu want to kill the weed (no pun) yu have to get it from the root - the tap root...de man dem whe deh pon tap.....
One-a-day
After a while you get numb to it. Just like in Jamaica.
This suggests to me that oil, gas and/or red mud is not going to start making a difference in Jamaica until we get term limits for politicians.
See.....life goes on
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lifes...akers_13635785
As it has to... what else can one do?
You're on point... what is TT's excuse for the murderous society it has become? It surely is not because you can't find a job... the government has a (relatively) generous "crash" program going... but dat not enuff!
Part of the problem why people are mired in this foolishness is because those on top do not want to share the wealth with others... e.g. still want to pay domestic workers $15 US a day like dat can buy anyting, while man driving Range Rover Benz and BMW...Peter R
Badman ting...gangsta life...devaluation of the sanctity of life...aided and abetted by the media, those who call the 'shot', and the protective and forgiving mothers, baby-mothers, wives and girlfriends who receive the largesse. Not least of all are the thieving politicians and the businessman cohorts who rise like the morning sun, setting the tone and timbre for a song and dance that's worse than the Pied Piper...
BTW where you get USD15 help in TT?
The cleaners where I work barely make $2,000 likkle bit a month! (6 to 1 US approx.)
I remember wife of a friend of mine who is a Dr. in south complaining that the expats "spoiling" the domestic helpers as they were paying them one and a half times what she was paying... and she was paying her helper $60 TT a day... mind you, this was about 5 plus years ago... but still...Peter R
Well, we going have to learn to negotiate with criminals and criminal behaviour as the greed that permeates society climbs to outrageous proportions (at all levels). The "haves" more and more live in gated enclaves while a good portion of hard-working masses struggle to earn a living wage... and the disparity seems to be ever widening rather than diminishing.
The attitude of some, if not many is: if we cyaan earn it we wi tek it... or mek by any means necessary. I know it seems simplistic, but ...
The thing is that in TT governments (of all persuasions) have IMO generously provided for education and furthering of opportunities... yet it seems a lot of yutes want their share of the pie and they want it now without any kind of sweat factor.
Blame is to be apportioned on all sides...Peter R
I have reluctantly come to the conclusion that as long as you have a large unskilled class you are going to have a huge income disparity and it will continue to grow as the modern economy relies less and less on that kind of labor. A few will follow their heart and pay more than the market dictates but it will never be the norm.
Now if as you say the TT govt is providing a route to a better life and it is not being taken, then what is the expectation? How much "sharing of the wealth" will be enough?"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
The sharing of resources will always be a problem....income disparity will always happen BUT when POLITICIANS and their cronies get a HUGE share of the PIE undeserving and unabashed, you will have the youths who see their mothers and fathers toiling totally unrewarded - the will go a tek it - like Peter says.