Top 10 Foods Highest in Cholesterol (To Limit or Avoid)

• Top 10 Foods Highest in Cholesterol (To Limit or Avoid)

High Risk Groups who need to limit or eliminate Cholesterol Consumption

Individuals with a family history of high cholesterol - Regulation of cholesterol blood levels are hereditary and it is advisable to find out if relatives have high cholesterol levels.

Older Adults - Cholesterol levels rise with age, particularly in post-menopausal women.

Over weight Individuals - Being over-weight increases risk of heart-disease and tends to colerate with high cholesterol levels.

People with Low Physical Activity Levels - Excersize is an effective way to lower bad cholesterol levels (LDLs) and raise good cholesterol levels (HDLs). People who are not physically active are at risk for high cholesterol levels.
    Individuals with high blood pressure - High blood pressure in combination with high cholesterol levels greatly increases the risk of heart disease and heart attacks.

Smokers - Individuals who smoke cigarettes have a higher risk of heart disease and should avoid high cholesterol foods.

Read more at http://www.healthaliciousness.com/ar...uQJ4xidQ3uD.99

Good post.

Yeah, also everyone needs to get a checkup at least once a year. Get blood drawn for glucose & cholesterol, prostate check etc. Stay away from red meat, butter, egg yoke, bacon etc. Too many of us pay more attention to our cars than our health. I bet most know the last time they gave their cars a tuneup or oil change, than the last time they went in for a physical.

Good advice Hortical... I didn't see alcohol on the list, nice

However, too much too frequently not good for you; in places like T&T it is hard to avoid especially with the carnival and fete culture that prevails.

Mi tiad fi tell unno seh Cholesterol is not the problem. Sigh.

The body had NO self regulating mechanism for cholesterol, unlike Sugar, ph, core temperature, water, etc.

Gwaan mek drug company tek unno money with dangerous drugs like Lipitor.

So you mean I stopped eating cheese for nothing!? Remind me again why it isn't the problem.

The medical term for “bad” cholesterol is low-density lipoprotein (LDL). High levels of “bad” cholesterol in your body can clog your arteries and increase your risk of heart attack and stroke. That’s the ugly truth. When there is too much bad cholesterol in your body, it can slowly build up in the walls of the arteries in your heart and brain. Once there, it can combine with other substances to form plaque, which can narrow your arteries and make them less flexible. This is a medical condition called atherosclerosis. If a blood clot forms and blocks an artery narrowed by plaque, you could have a heart attack or stroke. So for good health, keep your LDL low—below 100 mg/dL.

---
              Yes, Lipitor is not good for the body and can destroy the liver over time.
              I know a brethren who takes lipitor for his cholesterol and I advise him to drop the drug, but he does not want to change his diet, hence he continues to take the drug. His father died of a heart attack when he was yute and so he is concerned about cholesterol. He gets his liver checked out twice a year because he is on that toxic drug.

A glass of red wine is good for the arteries after meals in the evenings, and it has properties that helps in reducing clogged arteries.

Red Wine & Resveratrol
              http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/red-wine/HB00089

The so called good and bad choleseterols are just transporters.

We eat too much carbs (and too little of the unadulterated essential Omega 3 and 6 oils---parent oils, not derivatives like fish oil), that causes an instant insulin response to maintain blood sugar levels to homeostatic ideals, HOWEVAH, if you nuh have the oil supply...is worries.

The lack of enough proper insulin receptors on the right cell membranes (caused by shortage of the good omega essential fatty acids, ALA and LA) means that insulin keeps circulating longer than necessary and does damage to the inside of the vessel walls and guess how the body keeps U alive for a long as it can...it uses cholesterol as the vehicle to patch the walls with the bad fats that we consume....the adulterated Omega 3s and 6 that we buy in those clear plastic bokkle pon supermarket shelves and in Crisco tin cans!

Mek mi gih yuh an analogy....

Imagine that cholesterol is 2 taxi drivers and the bad oils is a bank robber...well the robber hitches a taxi ride to CitiBank and pays the driver the fare and a big tip and walks off. On his way to the branch, he dons a ski mask and does his thing. He then comes out with a passle of money and then hitches a ride to airport in another cab and pays generouly again.

Well, in the cholesterol case the fuss taxi driver is the one we call Bad chol. HDL (I believe) and the 2nd is LDL, ie good chol. In the analogy, imagine the police put out and APB on....get this...the FIRST TAXI driver. That is teh official Chol story. Not the getaway taxi (though he too was oblivious) and not the dyam bank robber (the bad fats). Lowering cholesterol without changing the diet will make matters WORSE, not better.

BTW, if you dont have a minimum amount of cholesterol, you die....plain and simple and as there is no self regulating mechanism, I trust you see the danger of Lipitor and the statin class of drugs???
                Last edited by Willi; February 16, 2013, 08:20 PM.

Stop blaming cholesterol...

WE clog our own arteries!!!!! Its is essentially a matter of poor modern diet.

If the artery was not being patched, we dead LOOOOONg time before

The body is performing moracles and we blame it for our lax behavior....Sigh.

Put it this was, if the body stops performing with the high intelligence and rearguard action, with our modern diet, most people would not live to see 30 years old...The body buys us decades, but as food quality/diet gets worse, you notice people a ketch hell 10 years earlier than our parents did!

Thanks ... I knew you had written about this before... good information to have.

Check out weston Price foundation
                      check out www.lifesaving fats.com
                      professornutrition.com
                      cambridgemedsciences.org
                      www.brian peskin.com
                      www.thedoctorwithin.com

Whole heap more out deh as well.

Plus the abuse of carbs causes insulin resistance an many people, so you need increasing amounts to pull di sugar out of circulation and dat mek it even worse....

Yes bad diet plays a major role. Based on all the evidence I have seen, and with advice from health officials, cholesterol plays a significant role with people's health.

Hortical, trust me, I did extensive homework on this. All this stuff is old hat to me, I am just operating off memory now.

Health officials??? Yuh mean the people that told us that margarine was healthier than butter and also villified coconut oil?

Come on now mi breddah...we nuh done read up that deh play long time ago.

Dem tell us that fresh milk was dangerous and give us the UHT crap. Now we have toxic loads from the dead microbes that causing all kinda allergies and we no longer get the good probiotic gut bacteria from the fresh milk to replenish our guts which really is a symbiotic biome. No way we could digest most of our food if we didnt have that colony of sybiotic gut bacteria to break it down for us and to keep the pathogenic bacteria in check.

Check out www.healthy-living.org