• WOW!!!!DNA bombshell

DNA bombshell in Irwin Point rape case

Published: Friday | February 15, 2013 19 Comments

Christopher Thomas, Gleaner WriterWestern Bureau:
    The prosecution in the highly publicised case emanating from last September's rape of five females in Irwin Point, St James, suffered a major setback yesterday when the results of DNA tests failed to implicate the two brothers charged in connection with the incident.
    Kerron and Sheldon Brissett, who were jointly charged with rape, wounding with intent and illegal possession of firearm following the September 24 incident, were offered bail in the Western Regional Gun Court in the aftermath of yesterday's DNA revelation.
    "The DNA result is back, and it excludes them (the Brissett brothers)," said attorney-at-law Lambert Johnson, who is representing the men in the in camera case. "I am not surprised at the result ... based on my talks with the young men and their families, who were sure of their innocence."

DNA bombshell in Irwin Point rape case

Published: Friday | February 15, 2013 19 Comments

Christopher Thomas, Gleaner WriterWestern Bureau:
    The prosecution in the highly publicised case emanating from last September's rape of five females in Irwin Point, St James, suffered a major setback yesterday when the results of DNA tests failed to implicate the two brothers charged in connection with the incident.
    Kerron and Sheldon Brissett, who were jointly charged with rape, wounding with intent and illegal possession of firearm following the September 24 incident, were offered bail in the Western Regional Gun Court in the aftermath of yesterday's DNA revelation.
    "The DNA result is back, and it excludes them (the Brissett brothers)," said attorney-at-law Lambert Johnson, who is representing the men in the in camera case. "I am not surprised at the result ... based on my talks with the young men and their families, who were sure of their innocence."
    I am curious why the prosecution want to proceed with this case. Are they going to use eye witness testimony ahead of DNA evidence? And to think people were saying to let them go mek the public deal with them.

Yup. And not even a plan B.

I still believe it has to do with the lotto scam

CSI St. James

Why you say that? You doubt the integrity of the test?

Well, that was an incorrect statement by me. I really wanted to comment on our justice system.

I wonder what evidence the police had in the first place to arrest these two gentlemen?

So now, the real rapists have probably made good their escape. Dem now bleach out, move outta town or even country.

sigh

Wouldn't they have done the test and check for a match before they were charged? unless they were so sure based on other evidence...

what about the beat up theygot in jail...can they sue?

Hold on...ISs this not a rape case? Didthey wear masks? Are the victims able to say yes or no it wasn't them?

Originally posted by Plush View Post
                    Hold on...ISs this not a rape case? Didthey wear masks? Are the victims able to say yes or no it wasn't them?
                    It is said that eye witness testimony isn't 100% reliable. I would love to hear the evidence the state has that they are determined to proceed after this. Secondly, if they were the rapists, how come the DNA result says something else?

mi nuh know but something fishy in this. Either somebody lying, somebody get paid off or no rape nuh gwaan.

Would it be an impossibility for us to screw up the DNA test?

It would be interesting to know what sort of sample they used for the test. Hair, bodily fluids?

Would it be an impossibility for us to screw up the DNA test?

It would be interesting to know what sort of sample they used for the test. Hair, bodily fluids?
                          Mosiah, I certainly hope that isn't the case. The defending attorney certainly sound confident based on this.

As he/she should! We mess up so many of these things!!!