Gwaan Wykeham!!
December 26th, 2007, 01:36 PM
Assasin
Reggae Prime Minister
Revival is on the way. Ed Bartlett is working hard. I think he was a decent minister of sports in the 80s but he seems to have grasp the issue of tourism. He is also involving key tourism people in Key position and going after the asian market.
Recently America won a decision in China to be able to advertise directly to the Chinese tourist inside China. Now if only we can negociate something like that in China etc. We now have direct flight to Brazil. They might give Air one a license and they just got a direct flight from Birmingham UK to Thompson Vacation. With a few more moves like this we will be increasing our tourism, only thing we have fi do a stop the foolishness. Also no more big hotels unless them come with a plan to sell their hotels in their home market. The spanish hotels needs to committe selling their hotels in the continent of Europe.
Look for my written piece sometime in the middle of the year after I see how much we have improved or loss.
Sass wi miss dis type a "prospective" and "enthusiastic" coverage of the industry... Asian market, China, Brazil etc... Tun it Up nuh???
LOLTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by 1of1 View PostTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Where were you when we had bad tourism ministers or people who just sat on their hands including Anthony Abrahams? When we had stagnat growth and when polices were made to stop helping small hotels and villas etc. go to trade show which directly impacted their business. How did Domincan Republic grow to 6 million visitors while we sat back and lay down especially in the nineties when they were growing and using our concept.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Is that hyping. You nuh have no sense.
"Look for my written piece sometime in the middle of the year after I see how much we have improved or loss. "
Same thing me a do fi Mcneil- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
LOL... dat nuh fool nuhbaddy yuteman... afta few weeks inna office yuh did a talk bout Bartlett "working hard" and "revival on the way"... plus mi ave couple well more idolatrous posts of yours pon dat Bartlett matta
Betta yuh juss admit seh yuh love im style (an im politics) ...LOLTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Infrastructure is important but marketing is even more important. People a buy trip to outa space and can't go there.
Marketing is more important. See how them a jump up and down fi one VW AD?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
In all the early post you made I said if he can do most of what he said but you wouldn't see that.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I am no expert, but just don't tell me marketing is not important as infrastructure. We can leave it there. Thanks- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
You miss the point...this is the point... deconstructed for your benefit:
There has been zero significant change in GOJ tourism marketing over the past 12 years ....aside from incessant Bartlett yappin
No other tourism input has seen any significant positive change in the subject period...not staff competence, environmental conditions (beaches, mountains, reggae music, weed, rent-a-dreads etc) or trinket production quality
There has been a tremendous infrastructural upgrade which has engendered a massive increase in rooms,,,ah nuh mi seh suh....the investors in rooms did
Ergo... the material reason for the respectable performance in tourism in the subject period is demonstrably NOT marketing....but infrastructure
Please note...this does not indicate that marketing is not important (your null hypothesis holds that it is important and I agree with that hypothesis)
But since marketing budgets (and strategies) in the subject period have been relatively constant or even declining in real terms, the solution explaining any change in tourism outcomes or superior performance CANNOT be found in marketing....unless you ascribe that positive change to garrulous yappin by a minister
In other words to explain a CHANGE in outcomes or SUPERIOR performance, one cannot focus on inputs which ARE RELATIVELY CONSTANT. The solution is found in inputs that CHANGE.
Here endeth the lesson
It's just a matter of logic and deductive reasoning.
Now have a noice dayLast edited by Don1; February 15, 2013, 11:42 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
You chatting what you don't know.
There has been massive changes in marketing, reaching to none traditional markets and supporting airlift which you oppose so you can stop your yapping right there.
The numerous arilfit deal from the midwest, Texas, South America, Eastern Europe and deals going straight to Africa and out of Canada so stop your yapping right there.
Oh by the way the budget was double when the tourism tax was increase to 20 dollars, something Mcneil oppose while in opposition but gladly hugged it up when he became minster. While you talking please look for some facts too, not just your feelings.Last edited by Assasin; February 15, 2013, 11:43 PM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Yuh ignorance ah get pon mi nerves now.
There is NOTHING NEW about Jamaica trying to tap non-traditional markets or doing airline or charter deals.....mostly seasonal in nature. That has been underway for more than 20 years ...trying to get traffic out of Latin America, Japan and Central Europe or obscure US/Canadian markets.
Even so for all that work those so called non traditional markets still account for far less than 10% of the visitor count..... numbers out of markets you cite.. S America, E Europe, Africa etc are paltry...
Yuh nuh know dis tourism ting... as you admitted. Yuh victimized by attention to politicians yappin. Get outa dat foolfool matrix an deal wid hard dataLast edited by Don1; February 16, 2013, 12:11 AM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE