S&P and Fitch downgrade Jamaica on debt exchange

A default technically is when you dont pay back the principal. What is happening here is that they use moral suasion to vary the terms of the original debt contract.

Grounds for lowering ratings yes, but not automatic.

Read this:

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=17177

thats part of it...in finance, default occurs when a debtor has not met his or her legal obligations according to the debt contract[not just the principal] and will be unable to make the required payments on their debt obligations AS AGREED

... in this case the BOND agreement was ' violated '...hence a DEFAULT nuh matter how yuh spin it

It is a default because they did not negotiate terms with the bondholders....it was a unilateral restructuring...so once again...a debt exchange does not always equal a default...doh buss yuh likkle google brain now

so where is the automotic downgrade? Usually a downgrade follows but it is not automatic, that is what Willi is telling you.

why A Debt Exchange does not automatically equal a default you idiot?

u get an automatic downgrade for 'default'...the exchange was/is

What is your major malfunction numbnuts? yuh cyaan read? that concludes the lesson for tonight grasshopper

mi affi guh check if madness run in yuh madda/fadda side...cuz yuh touch bad...or abused HARD drugs at some point

wasnt the original contract 'changed'?

Yuh need fi pay yuh tuition before semester start...cash ongly

why these force smileys, i know u r depressed...CALM...was the original contract altered?

nuh CRACK HEAD cyaa get mi money

I have already schooled you on why a Debt Exchange does not always equal a default...now guh sit in the corner wit Don2 and him dunce cap...try not to play footsie wit him

answer mi nuh question crackhead ...was the original contract altered?

Originally posted by Skeng Dummy View Post
                                answer mi nuh question crackhead
                                what school yuh seh yuh attended? dem teach English Language?