It's time to get happy and a Jamaican shall lead the way.

• It's time to get happy and a Jamaican shall lead the way.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NfCm9P8naDQ

Played in the 1st quarter!

Good While It Lasted....

Originally posted by Time View Post
      Well, we can’t complain as Jamaicans; we got our fifteen minutes….sorry, fifteen seconds of fame.

Now, life returns to normal, I guess. The bottom line is that we need to really clean up our dysfunctional society if we are to seriously reap any tangible benefits from international exposure such as this.

So, Silence is Really Golden?

Originally posted by Time View Post
        I was waiting on someone else to comment before I added something to my deliberately titled, “Good While It Lasted” post, which was a sarcastic comment on what I will refer to as a “non issue”, but....

Anyway, in the face of there being no response whatsoever to Time’s post or my follow-up “teaser” (this is so funny right now!), I will take this unexplainable silence as my cue to continue. And continue I will, albeit briefly today!

What on earth does a video of Jimmy Cliff singing a rather silly, “C’mon on, get happy” song (complete with a referenceto llama) have to do with Jamaica?? Of the millions of people who probably saw that couple of seconds of advertising (teaser), what connection can there possibly be with Jamaica?

It’s not as if Jimmy Cliff has a distinctive Jamaican accent!

By the way, I’m just asking.

...so do you think VW (interests) started the controversy to drive publicity?

btw - Why is the "JA spoof" locked?

Just asking!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
            I was waiting on someone else to comment before I added something to my deliberately titled, “Good While It Lasted” post, which was a sarcastic comment on what I will refer to as a “non issue”, but....

Anyway, in the face of there being no response whatsoever to Time’s post or my follow-up “teaser” (this is so funny right now!), I will take this unexplainable silence as my cue to continue. And continue I will, albeit briefly today!

What on earth does a video of Jimmy Cliff singing a rather silly, “C’mon on, get happy” song (complete with a referenceto llama) have to do with Jamaica?? Of the millions of people who probably saw that couple of seconds of advertising (teaser), what connection can there possibly be with Jamaica?

It’s not as if Jimmy Cliff has a distinctive Jamaican accent!

By the way, I’m just asking.

None of the ads mentioned Jamaica by name. However, VW was not trying to sell vacations to Jamaica. 'Jamaican' became the 2nd most popular word on twitter during the Super Bowl therefore its reasonable to believe that a large number of person made the connection to Jamaica.

I saw a new ad out there that mentioned Jamaica nad have guyss smoking in a car...now that is taking it to an extreme

Why brand Jamaica won't work for us
                Henley Morgan

Wednesday, February 06, 2013

The made for Super Bowl Volkswagen commercial depicting Jamaicans as carefree and happy, proves once again that we are a people enamoured more with the nine-day wonder of imagery than we are with the substance of nation building.
                Watched by an estimated global audience of close to 100 million viewers, the advertisement triggered a euphoric outpouring of articles on the pages of this and other local newspapers declaring the Jamaica brand the panacea for all our ills. There are two false assumptions that drive even intelligent people to such a conclusion.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz2K7CnafQV

I haven't really commented much on this VW ad topic, mostly because I thought it was overplayed in the news and in social media. I had no problem with the ad but didn't get why it generated so much attention. It's a white guy speaking with a Jamaican accent. Ok amusing but....

I agree with Henley Morgan and you on this, we tend to get easily sidetracked from the real work of nation building. We have to work on the fundamentals or we will continue to only see flashes of brilliance from Team Jamaica.
                  Last edited by Islandman; February 6, 2013, 07:22 AM.

Morgan's argument is on a foundation of sand. Ja the third happiest in the world and the US dead last? Dr. Morgan please explain the long lines at the US embassy. The point is simple; in this media driven age, free publicity for Ja is a boon; seeing that the island's economy depends on the crumbs of the service industry.

70 mil on commercial ads? What if all these entities took five mil from their budget and set up an ac. for the rboyz? When Rboyz plays to a world audience the commentators must mention the islands name and they must mention the sea and sun. Yes have your expert finance people oversee the account if you are paranoid.

Look what Bolt did for ja in the Olympics. Remember his races are in seconds. This is why VW could easily use the Jakan accent to market their product.

No boss it's not a distraction, it's real and in time to come when Ja has to compete it may be the only saving grace.
                    Last edited by Jawge; February 6, 2013, 01:32 PM.

70 mil on commercial ads? What if all these entities took five mil from their budget and set up an ac. for the rboyz
                      So you think you know how to spend Sandals money more effectively than they know how?

Interesting....which international brand you build again?

Him nuh realise Butch could have still been running his 100 room hotel and be satified with it and save his advertisement money.

I tell you, we a expert pon what people coulda, shoulda, woulda do.

A tell you, we a di expert. It is so ironic that a Stewart a the rep for VW a yard and he only stand to benefit from this too. LOL!!!

He is simply quoting results of a survey, not making an argument there.

Indeed, he showed the absurdity of the results vs economic position.

BTW, dem nuh have no long line at US embassy here.