'Tourism Not For Us' - William Knibb Youths Shun Sector

that is the problem. Most of them will not turn doctors and if you are trying to be a doctor, why should the hotel employ you?

What is your complain then?

it would seem that the schools in tourism areas lean towards that end, nothing wrong with that, but nothing wrong with individuals not wanting to drink the cool aid

Now they have to be qualified...I thought it wasn't rocket science? How many Jamaicans have had experience as General Manager at 5 star resorts internationally? Horace Peterkin graduated from Cornell's Hotel School and was GM at several Sandals properties...don't think you can get blacker than Horace...Butch doesn't deal wit no fiend ting...if you aren't qualified he has no use for you...

Protect business endeavors and innovations ?

Yuh mean like in the 90's ?

Unnuh talk outta 3 side ah unnuh mout..

You cannot reason with race hustlers...

Here is the thing, if we educated all our students at or near the level of these 6th form Knibb students, then all of them could reject the bartending and toilet cleaning jobs. They could all be skilled technicians, knowledge workers, entrepeneurs, whatever and the hotels would import those workers from somewhere else. And that would be a good position for the country to be in.

But the fact is we we don't! And that is our failing as a society. So while these educated students can rightly say they don't see tourism as a career option for them, we are fooling ourselves if we think that is a position most of our young people can take.

If the choice is bartender or siddung pon the corner begging a smalls, there is no virtue in taking the latter at least for a while.

some people are cut out to be in the service industry some not so much

yuh an Butch a top friend

90% of the people I hire for a job do not have the work ethic to handle a position with responsibility...4:55pm come and dem gone a dem yard...they cannot see through a simple task...it is a reality in Jamaica...

Butch fired his nephew because he wasn't cutting the mustard...no friend ting with him...

"Jamaica needs an affirmative plan for its black citizens and for the disabled."

no sah mi caan endorse dat

No...

yuh misunderstand i neva seh yuh is butch friend, but he seems to be yuh friend

what does that say about your hiring skills

look into yuself, is not employees alone a the problem

this could not be indicative of the work force of jamaica

Where you live? Must be the first world...