suppose the common man see more dignity a run him owna patty shop
    Then he should do that if he can.

Who said that running a hotel wasn't rocket science or surgery? Why don't we drop Reggaedoc at Sandals as a GM and see how well he fares

What absolute crap! In a nation of 2.7 million people, most of whom are black, with maybe half of them of working age, you are going to name some success stories?!??!?!?

Are you for real?!??
        I thought he was gonna tell me about someone rising to executive chef. The irony is, when an executive chef post opens up, Stewart will most likely pass this gentleman over, and grab a sous from overseas to be appointed exec chef, so keep the corks on the champaig

So anyone can run a hotel?
          Any qualified person, yes. Only white people can run hotel?

Really? Peter Hamil isn't from Steer Town? Glenroy Walker? Talk about race hustlers...you and Mosiah mek Al Sharpton look like Mahatma Ghandi

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magaz...pril-7_8629653

everyman experience different, your first hand knowledge is not everybody's fact, things that i say are based on my first hand knowledge as well, so I would not dare throw percentages in the mix, as to not having the work ethic I can tell you that from my experience the person at the lower level have more work ethic, more problem solving skills, than those in a position of responsibility.

Really? Peter Hamil isn't from Steer Town? Glenroy Walker? Talk about race hustlers...you and Mosiah mek Al Sharpton look like Mahatma Ghandi

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magaz...pril-7_8629653
                Is that the exception or the rule?

Who said that running a hotel wasn't rocket science or surgery? Why don't we drop Reggaedoc at Sandals as a GM and see how well he fares
                  The white expats have 2 brains and the qualified black, yes I said black, Jamaican has half brain?

yuh eva stop tuh think why the observer does "ads" like dis

It depends.. under reckless economic policy.. slim to none...

Mek mi check Godfrey Dyer again...

ray charles an stevie wonder have nutten on you

exactly

Black people have it hard everywhere. It is not harder in banking or most business in Jamaica. I think it is somewhat overblown and that people outside looking in and not trying to get in and promote themselves.

I have too many friends who have progress. Let me say most of my instructors at HEART are now senior managers unless they came out of the industry. Most of my fellow graduates from HEART at that time are managers and senior managers and this is since 1987, 1988, I have friends who came to the US and is still in this industry and hasn't progress. So many people told me how I was black and couldn't work in front office, on graduating from HEART, within a week I had three jobs at two top resort and another. I took a job and myself and another girl who was employed at the time came in and make changes to the front office and was later told we saved others job because of the culture we brought that turned the sluggish, don't care attitude of the front office. Within a year of start working I was involved in JTA classes and CHTA classess. I left shortly after for school.

Last year I was at a Spanish resort and I see why a lot of workers don't make it. You could see the guest gravitating to the smiling and helpful workers. These workers made good tips and get commended while there is a set I could hear grumbling and try and talking bad about their fellow workers and guests. This will get them nowhere.

The fact is you have to get qualified and provide good service in the industry to reach ahead. Again I can call a lot of naes I have seen progress and these are not light skinned people. It is just easy to say rather than talking. You know the person who gave ship cards in Port Antoinio was not white man he was one a politician/referee/umpire known islandwide. Karl must know him and that man and he had the choice not any whiteman. I said that because we need to look in ourselves sometimes and think what we can do to get ahead instead.

Affirmative plan to put them where ??

What yuh tink govament wuk is ?

Once again unnuh missing di forest for the trees..

It Takes Cash to Care..