'Tourism Not For Us' - William Knibb Youths Shun Sector

The Sous Chefs didn't go to culinary school? The GMs didn't go to Hospitality Management school? What they have over and beyond Jamaicans is international experience in the hotel industry...what is with the local mentality of I have a degree so I am entitled to a big job... a degree isn't worth the paper it's printed on if you have no practical experience...
    Yes they get international experience by coming to Jamaica. Give our own educated people a chance. After 50 years of independence, and over a century after emancipation we still accept that crap. More than half of these expats can't even write a proper sentence in English. Like I said, if they were to remain in a real country they would be doormen, jonitors, and chamber maids with the hope of rising to desk clerk after 20 years. That is where their education would have taken most of them. Coming to Ja as a manager is a respite for most of them. I say give the same opportunities to our best and brightest, and send the white people to HEART. Afteral, that is what they are really qualified for.

Thank God, there is hope for JA The young Ms. Gossel is a visionary and of maroon tenacity. For too long many of the young bright educated women and men had to compromise themselves (in terms of relationship with boyfriends or girlfriends) just o make money by being an entertainment object in the tourist industry. If it was here in the states, it would be a national outcry. These youth know what they are talking about. They speak for all youth in Ja.

The next step young people is to have laws passed in order to protect your business endeavours and innovations.

The fact is that soon all the local industries now operating will come under fierce competition. Knowing how they operate; they will not last. Yes I'm a prophet, mark my words. The service industry will wane. The govt. should shift focus and work with these bright young people.

Thank God, there is hope for JA The young Ms. Gossel is a visionary and of maroon tenacity. For too long many of the young bright educated women and men had to compromise themselves (in terms of relationship with boyfriends or girlfriends) just o make money by being an entertainment object in the tourist industry. If it was here in the states, it would be a national outcry. These youth know what they are talking about. They speak for all youth in Ja.

The next step young people is to have laws passed in order to protect your business endeavours and innovations.

The fact is that soon all the local industries now operating will come under fierce competition. Knowing how they operate; they will not last. Yes I'm a prophet, mark my words. The service industry will wane. The govt. should shift focus and work with these bright young people.
        That's right. After their ancestors worked for 300 years without pay, it is rather naive to think that there will not come a time when their children's children will make their demands. You can fool some people all the time and you can fool all the people some of the time, but you can't fool all the people all the time. So said Abe Licoln. At least there are kids in Jamaica who seek more than Weddy Wednesdays, wet and wild Sundays, freaky Fridays and being drunk on cheap junk cognac being sold for more than what it's worth.

The Sous Chefs didn't go to culinary school? The GMs didn't go to Hospitality Management school? What they have over and beyond Jamaicans is international experience in the hotel industry...what is with the local mentality of I have a degree so I am entitled to a big job... a degree isn't worth the paper it's printed on if you have no practical experience...
          Practical experience?. Practical experience without a job?. Hotel management is rocket science or surgery?.

yuhzeet

...a degree isn't worth the paper it's printed on if you have no practical experience...
              So right! Many of our educated persons do not get that chance at practical experience. That is a fact, Brickie! Yuh tink all those people yuh see on Page 2 daily have degrees or practical experience?

Jamaica needs an affirmative plan for its black citizens and for the disabled.

People with little or no education should be paid top dollar?

no but yuh can tek it or leave, suppose the common man see more dignity a run him owna patty shop

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                  Practical experience?. Practical experience without a job?. Hotel management is rocket science or surgery?.
                  So anyone can run a hotel?

what is with the local mentality of I have a degree so I am entitled to a big job.

no sah nuf people wid dem degree a clerk these days so mi nuh know how dat drop een

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magaz...--Colin-Wright

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magaz...ry-23_10861125

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magaz...ngham_11068291

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/magazin...-Oct-6_9730921

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magaz...Gopie_12623841

While unnuh are here yapping bout colour...these young black men are going for what they want...pooe unnuh

Originally posted by 1of1 View Post
                        no sah nuf people wid dem degree a clerk these days so mi nuh know how dat drop een
                        When reality sets in...90% of them don't have the work ethic required for a position of responsibility...I have first hand knowledge of that fact...

seriously!!

5 star restaurant, anyone game

What absolute crap! In a nation of 2.7 million people, most of whom are black, with maybe half of them of working age, you are going to name some success stories?!??!?!?

Are you for real?!??

So anyone can run a hotel?
                              Stop being...acute! I mean obtuse! Or whatever! Just stop being!!!

When reality sets in...90% of them don't have the work ethic required for a position of responsibility...I have first hand knowledge of that fact...
                                What are you talking about?. The ones who pull your suitcases, clean the toilets, and wash the dishes have good work ethics but the ones who are qualified to be managers don't have a good work ethic?