so its wrong to have ambition, to want to own the hotel heducation or not common or not
'Tourism Not For Us' - William Knibb Youths Shun Sector
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostYou can have all the ambition in the world...if you don't have the education to achieve it then it's called dreaming not ambition...I have no education but i demand to be treated more than just cheap labour? how that work?
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostI don't know what they aspiring to...they said that tourism holds nothing for "the common man"...the article is about these students shunning the tourism industry...doesn't sound like they are aspiring to much if yuh aks me...unless "the common man" is college heducated
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostWhat does any job hold for the common man of any hue? You never see white people a clean toilet in America? People with little or no education should be paid top dollar? Patty shop ting you a deal wit?
The Sous Chefs didn't go to culinary school? The GMs didn't go to Hospitality Management school? What they have over and beyond Jamaicans is international experience in the hotel industry...what is with the local mentality of I have a degree so I am entitled to a big job... a degree isn't worth the paper it's printed on if you have no practical experience...
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostWhat does any job hold for the common man of any hue? You never see white people a clean toilet in America? People with little or no education should be paid top dollar? Patty shop ting you a deal wit?
That is exactly the point. They are speaking for themselves not for the average secondary school student leaving school in JA.
Nothing particularly wrong with their attitude about the tourist industry in my view but it should be put in context. They have options, most don't."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass