• Gleaner EDITORIAL - Campaign funding hypocrisy

<DIV class=KonaBody rDszF="true">

EDITORIAL - Campaign funding hypocrisy
    published: Saturday | April 7, 2007

Earlier this week, we lamented in these columns the missed opportunities and opportunism that have attended the Trafigura debate. But it is not yet too late, we believe, to salvage something of real value from this unfortunate episode. In this regard, we urge Prime Minister Simpson Miller to go beyond the talk; and we call on Jamaicans to insist with us that she act upon her word.

At a rally on Monday to mark her first anniversary as leader of the People's National Party and Prime Minister of Jamaica, Mrs. Simpson Miller told her supporters that she was prepared to open the books of her party to show who were its financial contributors. Mrs. Simpson Miller felt impelled to this declaration of intent because of the pressure she, the Government and her party have felt over the Trafigura affair - the scandal in which the Dutch commodity trader donated the equivalent of J$31 million to the PNP, having passed the money through an account controlled by PNP officials, including its former general secretary, Colin Campbell.

Trafigura, which has a contract to trade oil on Jamaica's behalf, it appears to us, had good reason to attempt to hide the transaction, which came to light because someone leaked the information to the Opposition. Mr. Campbell was forced to resign his government and party jobs because he did not give his colleagues the full facts of the deal. The Government and ruling party were embarrassed and the Opposition had a field day.

Special foreign company

Trafigura, however, was only special because it was a foreign company and had contracts with the Government. But its murky arrangement with the ruling party was not, we believe, unique. Many other firms and individuals fund political parties in an absence of transparency. We do not know of the quid pro quo arrangements which they enter with the parties. Indeed, Edward Seaga, the former leader of the Opposition Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) not so long ago claimed that "tainted" money was used to campaign an internal party campaign he backed away from the allegation.

Yet, Mr. Seaga's successor, Bruce Golding, has dithered on campaign and party finance reform. He fears that if parties have to open their books fully, shy funders will melt away. Why, we ask? Not if they subscribe to transparency.

In the meantime, a perfectly decent bill tabled by Abe Dabdoub languishes in Parliament, stalled by the Opposition which says it first wants the Electoral Commission to present its own ideas for all-party endorsement. We are fearful that little or nothing will happen.

We were happy, therefore, when Mrs. Simpson Miller appeared on the verge of a unilateral decision to open her party's books for scrutiny. However, it seems that Mrs. Simpson Miller's offer is really a show-for-show; you show me yours and I'll show you mine.

To saythat the PNP can, but it doesn't, and to claim that the JLP can't, hardly takes the issue forward. So if Mrs. Simpson Miller is serious, she should show hers, opening fully the books of the PNP. Let the people decide whether they like what is revealed. But it first has to be shown.

The opinions on this page, except for the above, do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner. To respond to a Gleaner editorial, email us: editor@gleanerjm.com or fax: 922-6223. Responses should be no longer than 400 words. Not all responses will be published.</DIV>

RE: Gleaner EDITORIAL - Campaign funding hypocrisy

Red Herring? I've never used that term.

Again, the governing party was caught either taking a bribe orteifing taxpayer's money and in order to divert the attention, unuh waan talk bout campaign financing? Unuh and the gleaner might be fools, I want to know exacltly what that money from trafiguria is for and who fi guh unda thejail.

Then again, you (Karl) always say unuh corrupt, suh why should I be surprised?

Lazie (4/7/2007)Red Herring? I've never used that term.

Again, the governing party was caught either taking a bribe orteifing taxpayer's money and in order to divert the attention, unuh waan talk bout campaign financing? Unuh and the gleaner might be fools, I want to know exacltly what that money from trafiguria is for and who fi guh unda thejail.

Lazie? Lazie? Lazie?

1. Is taking a contribution from soemone you do business with 'taking a bribe'?

If it is...and, I am not saying it cannot be so...remember there are two major parites in Ja...the PNP and the JLP!

2. Here I am givng you a chance to retract your I never used that term?

3. If, in fact, youremember you used the term IN REFERRING TO THIS TRAFIGURA ISSUE and seek to now deny it, would that be a corrupt action? (wry smile)

If it was a contribution, why all the deception? The PNP said it was a contribution, Trafiguria said it was for a commercial transaction, Portia gave a conflicting report in Parliament .... finally, how come the PNP got more money than what the country got from their dealings with Trafiguria?

Again, I have never used thatterm.

<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl2_lblFullMessage>Reprint from post in this forum - I think the original came from the Gleaner?</SPAN>

<SPAN>published: Saturday | December 9, 2006
          The Editor, Sir:

"He who pays the piper calls the tune". In fact, the piper, if not directed, will play the tune that he believes his sponsors wish to hear. Currently corruption seems to be deeply embedded in our political system because in order for candidates and ultimately the party to win an election they have to be good at 'shaking down' big money interests for cash locally and internationally.

A system that forces candidates to seek their funding from private interests is seriously exposed to having economic and regulatory policies being crafted in response to demands from these large donors or being drafted by the donors themselves. It is campaign contributions going in and the state becoming beholden for a candidate or a party's indiscretions.

According to a study done by Sarah Anderson and John Cavanagh of the Institute for Policy Studies, which was embargoed until December 4, 2000, of the 100 largest organisations in the world, 51 are corporations. Some corporations are now larger than countries or regions. This growing private power has enormous economic consequences.

However, it seems that the greatest impact may be political, as corporations transform economic clout into political power.

A country's privatisation policy, its health policy, and its energy policy, its food security policy, ICT, everything could be taken over by special interests.

As unrelated as it may seem higher prices, double payment for services, rapacious interest rates, the inability to institute mandatory labelling of experimental foods, the lack of a biodiversity policy could all be connected to inappropriate campaign financing. Remove the private financing interest from the system and significantly reduce the incentive for corruption.

We are calling for regulation of political parties and public financing of elections. We believe that these extravagant conferences and massive advertising campaigns are not only unnecessary and a waste of money, but also put us deeper in debt to the special interests.

Under public financing, these would disappear and candidates would have to debate issues and plans, and establish social contracts with the people they seek to represent. Like free education it's not whether it is affordable, rather it's that we cannot afford not to have it.

I am, etc.,

CARLTON STEWART

President, National Consumers' League

natconle@cwjamaica.com

29 Beechwood Avenue, Kingston 5</SPAN>

Lazie (4/7/2007)Red Herring? I've never used that term.

Another excerpt taken from an earlier post on this site. I think the lead articlewas taken from the Gleaner -

At that time PNP officials claimed the money was a contribution to the party, but Trafigura denied the claims and said the transaction was purely commercial. This is in apparent reference to a dummy arrangement, to pay the Colin Campbell-affiliated company for contracted professional services. However, the Dutch company later reneged and said that the transaction was actually a donation.

<DIV>Firstly, Lazie, it's TrafiguRA. There is only one "i".</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Lazie, how about addressing the point that Bruce and the JLP are hardly concerned about campaigncontribution reform and are being quite disingenuous about it? That is likely the case with the PNP too, but I don't think anyone is fooled.</DIV>

Mosiah (4/7/2007)<DIV>Firstly, Lazie, it's TrafiguRA. There is only one "i".</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Lazie, how about addressing the point that Bruce and the JLP are hardly concerned about campaigncontribution reform and are being quite disingenuous about it? That is likely the case with the PNP too, but I don't think anyone is fooled.</DIV>
                Again, proof that Jamaicans are not very bright. Yuh gov't a rob unuh and you have issues with the JLP and their position on campaign finance reform? Where was all this cry about CPF prior to Trafiguria (Dutch sp)? The only man that was pushing it was Abe Dabdoub, and is after Portia dem get caught dem start preaching it. But then ... is not by mistake these idiots are in power, it took unthinking people to put them there.

Finally, unuh nuh ready fi CFR. What happened to Century after it was disclosed how much they contributed to the JLP? Then when unuh dun unuh cuss T&amp;T.

Mo come one now!

2 different cases with different levels of gravity.

On the one hand, the GOJ has been compromised, that is our sovereignty has been out in question by the actions of Govt with respect to a foreign entity. This issue should cross all party lines as we see a Dutch firm contributing more to the Party in Power than they allegedly made on the Nigerian trade deal!! This implies to me that we have been sold out to the interest of a foreign commercial entity. Are we now puppets?

The other issue is the lack of demonstated commitment of both parties to transparency in campaign contribs. This too has to be addressed as it creates the loophole for more betrayal of trust. A POTENTIAL problem, as opposed to a reality that we now face.

Both need to be addressed, but the immediate and prime importanace MUST be given to the complete breach of trust demonstated by the Trifugura imbroglio. I am shocked that people are not alarmed by this. Jamaicans selling out Jamaicans for a few pieces of silver. Our own people betraying us in the most perfidious manner possible. Judas did nothing less!

Willi, the thing is, people only see the problem if it is committed by those who wear green. All of a sudden everybody concerned bout campaign financing, while there is a chance the nation's money going in the PNP account.