Happy Birthday to two Jamaican Greats

I agree it is quite likely that he listened to quite a bit of Jamaican music and it had some kind of an influence on him.

I would think that would be true of many non-Jamaican musicians including someone like Alicia Keys who I recently read did not have a Jamaican father contrary to popular belief. So the question is how much parental or cultural influence does it take to label someone a "Jamaican great" , or a "Jamaican criminal" in any realistic sense? That's where I believe I differ from most.

I did piano lessons myself, btw, and was quite talented at it, ascording to my teacher, Mrs. Strudwick. Then I found football and tennis.
    LOL! You mean you found a football and tennis ball somewhere?

I-man, the man is born in Jamaica. Does that not make him Jamaican? That's what we call those footballers who have never set foot on the fair isle, but wi having a problem...ahhh bwoy!

Yes, it's our right to call him that if he is doing something good. And it's our right to not call him that if he were a criminal. No?

No man, I am not questioning him being Jamaican in that sense. I meant in the sense of him and his successes being a "product" of Jamaica. There is a difference I believe.

Regarding what is our "right" , I disagree somewhat. Can we decide not to refer to someone as a Jamaican if we do not approve of them? More importantly though, do we have a right to request OTHERS not to refer to them as Jamaican when we don't approve, but request that they refer to them as Jamaican when we do? Seems very inconsistent if not hypocritical to me.

Anyway this is a very interesting topic on which reasonable people can disagree.

LOL

Glad you mentioned Maxi Priest.

What kind of music did Thom Bell's parents/grandparents listen to? Despite their desire to send him to classical music classes, maybe his other influences may have played a part in the music he created.

Possible? Likely? Quite, in my opinion!

I did piano lessons myself, btw, and was quite talented at it, ascording to my teacher, Mrs. Strudwick. Then I found football and tennis.

.....and then your parents' hopes and dreams were shattered.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

We don't have nothing to argue about. Two great Jamaican producers, one who is seen as the father of Philadelphia modern pop music and one who is seen as the father of modern Jamaican music.

Love the style and flavor. How would you make a difference between Denroy Morgan and Heavy D? Two big hitmakers in Hip Hop but Jamaicans.

Or maybe they were happy to get rid of the noise coming from the room with piano!

one person tell him, him talented and a the one who a collect him pocket money. What you expect her to say when she have a family to feed. LOL.

lol.....unuh low me big head friend. Mosiah, what position you used to play pon the football field.....right-off?
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I did not use those words (product of Jamaica) to describe Thom Bell.

What I was basically saying is there must have been some influence. Others disagree. Not a problem!

left off!

KMT!