• Hugh's moment of lapse

Hugh's moment of lapse

Published: Thursday | January 24, 2013 11 Comments

Colin Campbell, Contributor

POOR HUGH Small. He has forgotten the first lesson our mothers taught us when they heard excessive chatter. It is better to keep your mouth shut and let others think certain things of you, rather than open your mouth and confirm it.

Hugh Small's comments in The Sunday Gleaner must have either resulted from a serious memory lapse or provoked by the kind of bitterness that make you sick. Hugh Small, before his appointment to the High Court of the Bahamas, was a long-standing member of the People's National Party (PNP). Not well liked though, because he tended to rate himself too highly. But worse, he never had the ability to finish the course. So whether it was the national Workers Union, the constituency of South St Catherine or Ministry of Finance and Planning, a safe bet would be that he would run away. On one occasion when he ran away, it took all the skill of oratory that Michael Manley had to convince the National Executive Council meeting in Montego Bay in the run-up to the the 1989 general election that he should once again be in the fold, and so he was anointed as the candidate for the PNP.

Now in 2013, Mr Small believes the PNP is going to crash because neither its leader, Portia Simpson Miller, nor its other leaders are intellectuals or possess the intellectual skills to prevent the PNP from crashing. This is a ridiculous argument. My advice to him is don't hold your breath. That is old hat and was dispatched to the boundary on December 29, 2011. As far as the other leaders are concerned, Mr Small does not even know many of them, as he ran away from politics nearly 20 years ago.

INTELLECTUALLY DISINGENUOUS
    Mr Small appears to have had a lapse in memory or was being intellectually disingenuous when he did not reveal that he supported Mrs Simpson Miller to be leader of PNP in 1992 over P.J. Patterson. If she does not possess the skills in 2013, how could she have had them in 1992? If Mr Small cannot say why he supported her then, I am going to assume it was because he thought he could put her in office but keep power for himself.

The fact is he continues to underrate the intellectual capacity of the prime minister. Intellect is what intellect does. The accomplishments of Portia Simpson as a representative of the people since 1974, twenty years as a cabinet minister, including two and a half as prime minister, cannot reflect anything but solid leadership skill rooted in vision, intellect and massive credibility among the people.

Hugh Small has no such report card and ran from the Ministry of Finance, leaving his resignation letter with a member of Prime Minister Patterson's security detail while the prime minister attended Dr Ivan Lloyd's funeral. A man who knows about intellectual leadership would never do that. He would also never defend Bruce Golding on his mission to sacrifice his own political career in the Manatt-Dudus affair.

Colin Campbell is a former general secretary of the People's National Party and Cabinet minister. Send comments to: columns@gleanerjm.com

Colin Campbell calling someone disingenuous? If mi laugh inside yah tiddeh

How "unu" feel bout what him say though?

Him say di right tings. But, geez, mek smaddy else say it nuh man!

What exactly did he say? Hugh Small has been out of politics for more than 20 years? Yes I agree

My question is it surprising , our history or politics is born in hypocrisy , proof to me that when we spew vitrol and hate at each other behind closed doors , they MPs sit and have coffe or tea together,worse yet they are really in sync with supporting the same ideas, the biggest difference is , whom should be seen as promoting them and how.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

He says what everybody knows to be true. Too bad is him say it. Truth may be an offence coming from him(Campbell) but it is true nonetheless.

Suh.. Campbell speaking di Truth and Hugh not ???

Hahahahaha

Ah dat mi ah seh.

I still looking for this record of achievement people talking about.

MDYADWL.

But a wha di? Yuh tink it easy fi suck off $31 million and den beat di case? That is one hell of an achievement if yuh aks me

full time yuh come and be a senator for your party...wi need honest people like u in the politics?

why the question sign?

when you ever see Skeng a defend the PNP?

My party??? Hahahahahahahahahahaha.

If ongly U knew.

If you even knew what mi name, yuh would unnerstan.

BTW, what is the difference between the Parties?

How the fallacy of difference can stand up when people a switch side like how man and man change clothes everyday. Samuda is what? Mullings is what? Hanna is what? Hayles is what? Tufton is what? Steeeups. Dem still have yuh fooled?

Worry bout yuhself and what you can do. I am constable Brown, dem call mi bwoy blue, I come to show you what I can do....LoL

To all yuh poor likkle wandering sheep
                              Who from the flock have strayed away
                              There is forgiveness waiting here
                              If you repent of your sins today..

But if you come fi try tek over...no sankey nuh sing suh...