• West Indians on film in WWII!!

http://www.colonialfilm.org.uk/node/5733

Watch this, West Indians in London in WWII, yeah we had our guys flying planes before Redtails who knew!! Exaggeration on my part probably!

Check out Una Marson, a Jamaican woman who achieved much, a pioneer, who is not well known or celebrated in Jamaica at all.

Here is a little more on her!

Extremely versatile lady, a few of her accomplishments were.

First black woman programme maker at the BBC.
    Haile Selassis'e secretary at the 1936 League of Nations, the precursor to the UN. it was una marson who typed and edited what we know as "War" the bob Marley song that come out of a Haile Selassie speech.

http://www.black-history-month.co.uk...na_marson.html

My father was a WW2 vet....RAF...ran away from home at 19 to enlist....had sm colourful stories...

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
      http://www.colonialfilm.org.uk/node/5733

Watch this, West Indians in London in WWII, yeah we had our guys flying planes before Redtails who knew!! Exaggeration on my part probably!

Check out Una Marson, a Jamaican woman who achieved much, a pioneer, who is not well known or celebrated in Jamaica at all.

Here is a little more on her!

Extremely versatile lady, a few of her accomplishments were.

First black woman programme maker at the BBC.
      Haile Selassis'e secretary at the 1936 League of Nations, the precursor to the UN. it was una marson who typed and edited what we know as "War" the bob Marley song that come out of a Haile Selassie speech.

http://www.black-history-month.co.uk...na_marson.html
      WW2??? Dat late

Wi dun ave memorial pon wi Chapel wall to 17 ex-students who dead inna WW1

Long time wi ah serve Babylon

Yeah WWW1 Jamaica had some 1000 who died, while WWW2 it was about 200.

Hey check these stories the last one is really very vivid.
        http://www.mgtrust.org/car2.htm

Nuff respect Exile!

"Yeah WWW1 Jamaica had some 1000 who died" I have a list, not sure it's 1000 thought, as it as Contingents from T&T also.

I have filtered out the Hanoverians for a project.

Anyhow the last WWI Warrior to die was from Lucea,that also covers the BWI.