Norman Manley, Michael Manley and PJ may have had a better understanding of 'economic jargon' ...but what is difficult to understand about our current position and the difficulties that lie ahead as we search for a way out?
If we spell out the 'current sink-hole situation'...think on aspirations...and possible solutions most can clearly see the the 'big picture'. It is then merely a matter of having the will to lead and stand in the fire as firstly, there shall be a firestorm as 'the pain bites'...and to stay the course as the drive to 'first world status' winds along its slow path.
Portia is a product of her party,I am really beginning to think the bulk of the criticism is sexist and pedantic.
Portia's misguided view of signing an IMF agreement...is no different from Bruce committing himself before being elected to increasing the wage of Jamaica nurses,both are campaign promises difficult to honor.
Just how important is having an "intellect" as a leader? She is the first not to fit the bill, so decades of economic decadence is under the leadership of astute,learned PM's.
George Bush and Reagan were not exactly the brightest guys in any room, but they were propped up by their supporting cast.
Portia problem remains subscribing to the doctrines of the old boys club,if anything she has continued the policies of her former party leader.
Yuh seit tuh!
Haus mi seh, 'ugh Suh-mall a chat nan-sense!
I won’t even bother to comment on Hugh Small’s “success” as a finance minister and financial adviser to our nation’s CEO in the late 1970s. In fact, when we were returning empty handed from overseas begging trips in mid-1980, the clear message to Mr. Small and company was that they should go back to the IMF.
But like I said, “interesting” (as in interesting comments from this particular person).
I should have put 'came before' in parentheses. I meant all those before today! ...current holder(s) will be judged at the end of term!
...you caught me out as I was not clear. PJ and Omar were not better or worse than those before them. They started with the lousy hand left by those before...and played as those before had - TERRIBLY!
If you get 14 years and can't fix it then you are worst. Longest servin Prime Minister and longest serving Fiance minister and left us in even worst situation.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
No chance.
Hugh's crime was that he was Michael's favourite and Peter's crime was that he delivered the resignation letter to PJ for the Shell Scandal.
PJ cut dem out totally when he came back. All Hartley get cut out after him tek the MM's press Secretary job and him and PJ did close bad bad before. See a pattern?
we can check the amount of countries who were in worst situation then, and made the right moves and are now better off. 14 years is a long time enough to set any country on a better path.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.