The Twenty Most Homicidal Countries In The World

• The Twenty Most Homicidal Countries In The World

THE TWENTY MOST HOMICIDAL COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD PER 100,000 PEOPLE.

1. Honduras....91.6%
    2. El Salvador....66%
    3. Ivory Coast....56.9%
    4. Jamaica ...52.1%
    5. Venezuela ...49%
    6. Belize....41.7%
    7. Guatemala ...41.4%
    8. US Virgin Islands..39.2%
    9. St Kitts Nevis...38.2%
    10. Zambia ...38%
    11. Uganda ...36.3%
    12. Malawi...36%
    13. TRIN AND TOB..35.2%
    14. South Africa...33.8%
    15. Lesotho ...33.6%
    16. Colombia ...33.4%
    17. The Congo....30.8%
    18. Central African Rep..29.3%
    19. Puerto Rico ....26.2%
    20. Ethiopia ...25.5%

David Rudder on FB:

In light of last night's shooting of eight people while the rest of us were having a good time one has to pause and think about tomorrow. Tomorrow we could be Honduras. Over there, they are in the process of creating virtually, a new country within the country of Honduras, with its own laws, cities, etc and leaving the rest of the country in the hands of the mobs of killers. 91.6 % out of every 100,000 people. Wow!
    We ONLY in 13th place now. We've got to change minds. Stopping guns coming in is just a brick in the wall.

I've seen what it has done to the Virgin Islands first hand and St Kitts eh easy either.

Why do Central American and Caribbean countries figure so prominently on this list?!?

Belize?!? US Virgin Islands??!

We use poverty as the reason why our crime rate is so high. Well, some of us do. What is T&T's excuse?!?

Marginalization. Drugs. Guns.

We sound like a scratch record with the talk about crime. Nothing will change anytime soon.

Tell yuh someting doh, the road checks dem tun up! Police are all over the place! Maybe they are focusing too much on traffic violations, but, as they say, catch the small offences, and some of the big ones will be addressed too.

When dem lock dwn a next Don talk to me....

Yuh nuh hear say wi police kill 18 in 12 days? Yuh tink is Sunday School teachers dem a kill!

Mexico is no where on the list! I guess 112 million population dilutes the murder rate. Do you have a top 20 murder rate by city?

Trinis have to prove they are as "good as, if not better" than Jamaicans? maybe?

That's one theory...

I don't think it's "91.6% out of every 100,000 people"...that's a bit extreme...there are 91.6 murders per 100,000 people in Honduras...

.....and the USA with its multiple mass killings
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

THE TWENTY MOST HOMICIDAL COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD PER 100,000 PEOPLE.

1. Honduras....91.6%
                        2. El Salvador....66%
                        3. Ivory Coast....56.9%
                        4. Jamaica ...52.1%
                        5. Venezuela ...49%
                        6. Belize....41.7%
                        7. Guatemala ...41.4%
                        8. US Virgin Islands..39.2%
                        9. St Kitts Nevis...38.2%
                        10. Zambia ...38%
                        11. Uganda ...36.3%
                        12. Malawi...36%
                        13. TRIN AND TOB..35.2%
                        14. South Africa...33.8%
                        15. Lesotho ...33.6%
                        16. Colombia ...33.4%
                        17. The Congo....30.8%
                        18. Central African Rep..29.3%
                        19. Puerto Rico ....26.2%
                        20. Ethiopia ...25.5%

David Rudder on FB:

In light of last night's shooting of eight people while the rest of us were having a good time one has to pause and think about tomorrow. Tomorrow we could be Honduras. Over there, they are in the process of creating virtually, a new country within the country of Honduras, with its own laws, cities, etc and leaving the rest of the country in the hands of the mobs of killers. 91.6 % out of every 100,000 people. Wow!
                        We ONLY in 13th place now. We've got to change minds. Stopping guns coming in is just a brick in the wall.

I've seen what it has done to the Virgin Islands first hand and St Kitts eh easy either.
                        Jamaica's stat is not current....the 2012 rate/100K is around 40-45

At 52/100K the murder total would be 1400+. The data is pre-Dudus
                        Last edited by Don1; January 20, 2013, 06:19 PM.

Some Surprises

.....and the USA with its multiple mass killings
                          Jangle , we have to remember, though, that the USA (more than 300 million inhabitants) is the third most populated country on the planet, surpassed only by India and China. So on a per capita basis that may be why the USA does not find itself on a list such as this.

The same rationale goes for India, which has a very high homicide rate.

The surprises for me are that Mexico, Guyana and the Bahamas are NOT on this Top 20 list, and that St Kitts/Nevis has a higher homicide rate than St Lucia. But the absence of Mexico in particular shocks me!!

Are homicides in Haiti properly reported?

There is no doubt in my mind that good ol’ Barbados is probably the safest Caribbean country.

No surprise at all for the US. There are high murder rates in the urban areas, and that's about it.

Yippeeee, wi drop from 4 to 6.

Carnival time! Sigh, what a wasted opportunity.

The ongly good news here is that Mo seh di police a mek nuff roadblocks currently.