Dis logistics ting big - mebbe schools fi get wid di program

• Dis logistics ting big - mebbe schools fi get wid di program

Oh yes ...mi juss memba seh certain skool ah gwaan wid one maritime sitten fram wheday..

Ahhh bwoy...dis eddication leadership ting is one heavy burden

BUSINESS: Technical Support For Jamaica’s Logistics Hub
    Published: Thursday November 15, 2012 | 5:04 pm

China, Singapore and the Netherlands have pledged technical support to assist Jamaica fast track its plan to establish itself as the logistics hub of the Americas, according to Minister of Industry, investment and Commerce, Anthony Hylton.

Describing the mission as successful, Hylton, addressing a press conference in Kingston this morning, said the meetings reaffirmed and validated the soundness of the intention to make Jamaica the logistics hub of the Americas.

He said it was encouraging that the major players in the world of global supply management and logistics saw Jamaica’s proposed logistics hub as a global asset.

The Minister recently led a delegation to China and Singapore during which discussions were held with counterpart ministers on deepening commercial and industrial relations between Jamaica and the two countries.

The Jamaican delegation also met with potential investors and used the opportunity to promote investment in the proposed logistics hub and other sectors in Jamaica.

The logistics hub is the centre-piece of the government’s growth strategy, which is intended to impact positively on Jamaica’s economy and create well needed jobs.

The trip to China and Singapore was preceded by fact-finding visits to Panama and the Netherlands, where Hylton toured the Colon Freezone and discussed possible cooperation with Dutch maritime and aviation interests.

Hylton said the trip allowed the delegation to observe first hand and gain greater perspective on the scale and scope of the physical infrastructure required to support the development of a logistics sector and hub.

Jamaica’s is working towards a plan to become the fourth node in the global logistics network, joining Singapore, Dubai and Rotterdam.

Both Jamaica and China expect to benefit from opportunities which will arise from the expansion of the Panama Canal scheduled for completion in 2015.

Hylton was accompanied on the mission to China and Singapore by chairman of the newly-formed logistics taskforce committee, Dr. Eric Deans; Jampro President Sancia Bennett Templer; chairman of the Factories Corporation of Jamaica, Clive Fagan and his senior advisor Reginald Nugent.
    Last edited by Don1; January 19, 2013, 04:02 PM.

well at least Silicon Valley Economist was in the mission... dem have hope..

Oh...Termites won't fcuk it up??

There is always that possibility.. but I liken this to the North-South highway.. sign then move out of the way...

Them ah try hard doh.. mi si dem bring back one BOJ termite fi chair the Divestment team.. but it sorta balance out wid one and two private sector man dat have sense (Dem guh Good School) oh.. and is a PPP mogel dem ah use by the way..

There is always that possibility.. but I liken this to the North-South highway.. sign then move out of the way...

Them ah try hard doh.. mi si dem bring back one BOJ termite fi chair the Divestment team.. but it sorta balance out wid one and two private sector man dat have sense (Dem guh Good School) oh.. and is a PPP mogel dem ah use by the way..

What with this good school bad school thing. Heve we not grown past that yet bro?.

We Are Not Alone....

A New Transshipment Hub Underway in Puerto Rico

Richard Westlund | Jun 01, 2009 |

In a direct challenge to the competing transshipment ports in Jamaica and the Bahamas, Puerto Rico has embarked on one of the Caribbean’s most ambitious port expansion projects. Located in Ponce on the southern coast, the US$750 million Port of the Americas would become the region’s first cargo transshipment hub in what is considered U.S. territory.

When the construction project is completed in 2012, the expanded port at Ponce would be able to handle as many as four Panamax-size vessels, which are the largest ships that can traverse the Panama Canal, each with a capacity of 8,000 to 10,000 TEUs – or 20-foot equivalent units – in containers. Like competing transshipment hubs, huge container ships arriving at the Port of the Americas will have cargo broken down and then shipped in smaller vessels to other U.S. and Caribbean ports.

Puerto Rican port authorities aim to vie for traffic from global shippers currently using established transshipment hubs in Kingston, Jamaica; Freeport, the Bahamas; and Panama, according to Dave Sanford, the director of navigation policy and legislation at the American Association of Port Authorities in Washington.

“We’re excited about Port of the Americas because it represents the first East Coast offshore transshipment facility under a U.S. flag,” said Sanford, who attended a project management workshop about the project.

“The geographic positioning is ideal, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the Puerto Rico Ports Authority have already made a sizeable investment in the project, which has progressed very well,” Sanford said

Read More: http://latintrade.com/2009/06/port-o...as-puerto-rico

And Still More Friends (lol)

Chinese Company Completes World's Largest Port in Bahamas

Christopher Ruddy and Stephan ArcherJanuary 19, 2000

Bahamas – The same Chinese company that recently took operational control of the Panama Canal is currently completing construction of the largest container port in the world in Freeport, Bahamas – just 60 miles from Florida.

Several U.S. military experts say that the activities of Hutchison Whampoa Limited, a Hong Kong-based conglomerate, in both Panama and the Bahamas, pose a significant risk to U.S. national security.

Officials for Hutchison Whampoa have heatedly denied any links with the Red Chinese government, but several established connections – including new evidence uncovered by NewsMax.com – suggest the Chinese government has a keen interest in the company's activities.

One port facility that has captured the interest of the Chinese government is Hutchison Whampoa's sprawling port facility in the tourist destination of Freeport on Grand Bahama Island.

Strategically Located Near U.S. East Coast

According to the company's Web site, the port is located at one of the most strategic spots in the world because "Freeport is the closest offshore port to the east coast of the United States, at the cross-roads of routes between Europe and the Americas and through the Panama Canal."

In 1995, Hutchison Whampoa entered into a 50-50 partnership with the Grand Bahama Development Company, a privately owned Bahamian company, to develop and expand the small Freeport facility that had catered to cruise ships.

And with all of that, we are still the best positioned, geographically. When ships emerge on the Caribbean side, they are looking right at the Port of Kingston. Only a biblical earthquake can alter that fact.

To go to the Bahamas, ships would need to bypass us and sail around the east coast of Cuba. Indeed, Kingston is about half the distance it would take to travel to either Puerto Rico or the Bahamas.

Now, if only we could stop yapping and get to work!

"Now, if only we could stop yapping and get to work!"

Mi still a hear that Portland a the most beautiful parish but we still nuh have the tourist. We think god given advantages don't have to be exploited, people will come.

Exploited is a harsh word, but I see what you mean.

yeah not talking Exploited in the environmental field but in the Marketing and planning field.

Steeuuups

How long mi did a preach dis...Portia loaf out 1 year already!

True

And with all of that, we are still the best positioned, geographically. When ships emerge on the Caribbean side, they are looking right at the Port of Kingston. Only a biblical earthquake can alter that fact.

To go to the Bahamas, ships would need to bypass us and sail around the east coast of Cuba. Indeed, Kingston is about half the distance it would take to travel to either Puerto Rico or the Bahamas.

Now, if only we could stop yapping and get to work!
                          Good, valid points, boss. I agree with everything you have stated here.

Can I get an AMEN!

Preach!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I know! Still sound a way.