Boy Get Deport Come Dung Inna One Pants
The Jamaican language is not always patois. Many Jamaicans speak clear english with a Jamaican accent.
The success of most film is about the target market. I would not consider myself within that market.
I will re-emphasize the importance of respecting choice.
I respect you for liking and promoting Dance Hall on this forum. I was impressed that the 'satire' I posted about the ram goat (in a previous post)...you were able to identify that the dance-hall music used in the satire...was not original.
Maybe like the film Shottas, I may stumble across this new movie on TV--and watch...just to watch. But from the preview, i am not impressed by the negative light it presents Jamaica.Last edited by HL; January 19, 2013, 02:49 PM.The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
Originally posted by HL View PostThe Jamaican language is not always patois. Many Jamaicans speak clear english with a Jamaican accent.
BrickT. the "Jamaican Culture" I know (and remenber) is loving kind and charitable. Not that there were no crime and violence--but today's level is unprecedented.
Someone earlier made the point that lots of tourists fail to disembark from cruise ship when they reach Jamaica. Guess why?
I recall in the 80's, I was working in New Jersey then. One of my co-worker, a manager from Russia-- went on a cruise which incl. a stop in Jamaica.
After he got back...he said to me "hey HL, lots of Jamaicans keep coming up to me trying to sell me marijuana".......... I kinda laughed it off as an anomaly. He bought it.
LAST: I have traveled to quite a few countries...and walked around in the capital of some of these countries. I could not do that (as a tourist) in kINGSTON. Jamaica ranks very high on the aggressiveness of its people. This new film does nothing to POSITIVELY hi-light our beautiful Island
It was not always like this. We need much more POSITIVE exposure. Even if it's embellished.Last edited by HL; January 19, 2013, 04:25 PM.The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
Originally posted by HL View PostBrickT. the "Jamaican Culture" I know (and remenber) is loving kind and charitable. Not that there were no crime and violence--but today's level is unprecedented.
Someone earlier made the point that lots of tourists fail to disembark from cruise ship when they reach Jamaica. Guess why?
I recall in the 80's, I was working in New Jersey then. One of my co-worker, a manager from Russia-- went on a cruise which incl. a stop in Jamaica.
After he got back...he said to me "hey HL, lots of Jamaicans keep coming up to me trying to sell me marijuana".......... I kinda laughed it off as an anomaly. He bought it.
LAST: I have traveled to quite a few countries...and walked around in the capital of some of these countries. I could not do that (as a tourist) in kINGSTON. Jamaica ranks very high on the aggressiveness of its people. This new film does nothing to POSITIVELY hi-light our beautiful Island
It was not always like this. We need much more POSITIVE exposure. Even if it's embellished.
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE