Poverty or reckless spenders?

• Poverty or reckless spenders?

Before unuh chop off mi head, hear mi out and correct me if I'm wrong.
    The government raised the threshold for income tax to protrct the most vulnerable...this means they will excape the proposed tax increases right?

Can the rest of Jamaica afford to dig the country out of the hole that years of mismangment has put us in...

I was in Jamaica for December, Sting at US$30 was full, bars were filled with patrons nightly..I went to some all inclusive parties like Renassaince all white, Big cups, and French men....These events charged a minimum of US$30 and a maximum of $US120 for entrance...These were all inclusive parties yet you had people refusing to drink the free liquor and buying their own liquor at ridiculous prices.

So, can we afford to cut back on the partying? Have a beer or two less a week?
    Can we afford not to want everything that's foreign and expensive? I swear, some Jamaicans who are suppose to be poor travel much more frequent than I can afford to? I had dinner at a few places on the outskirts of kingston and the prices were similiar and even higher art times when compared to prices I pay in New york...Yet all these restaurants were full with a waiting period at times...Can we afford to eat out one time less a month and duh weh granny or mommy teach wi?

Can some afford to pay more? Or maybe I was just seeing the ones who don't pay at all cause these were not all Farinas...and can we afford to have one less woman..suh wi nuh haffi a mine 5 or 10?

The high rollers have a large presence but they are a very small percentage.
    A certain amount of austerity is necessary right now yes but ultimately our only hope is to grow a bigger pie so everyone can get a small slice.

I don't think we necessarily want those who can afford it to stop spending in the clubs and restaurants, those businesses are part of the economy too. In fact we really want to have more people who can potentially afford to purchase a season ticket for ATI and Jazz, once them pay them taxes and take care of their other obligations first.

Well we do have a lifestyle problem which we will never address. We talk about China on here but forget their one child policy. Jamaicans have 20 pickney and not supporting. Most of the vulnerable are young kids, kids who just graduated as the umemployment is higher amongst them, and also the elders and retirees.

Fact is we have too many and it is time government focus on getting the economy on track and provide solutions. Government can't cover all these poor as many are not on any government list because they don't have political godfather or don't sign up. Go inna the country or some ghetto areas and see.

You must also remember that Taxi fare hike is come, water hike in the new year plus devaluation, inflation and taxes all at once, some people "real income" may be reduces by as much as 30% in the upcoming months.
      Last edited by Assasin; January 15, 2013, 02:34 PM.

Not taking care of your children or your elders is a moral failure, not a lifestyle problem.

was been nice .

Jamaicans have 20 pickney and not supporting. Most of the vulnerable are young kids, kids who just graduated as the umemployment is higher amongst them, and also the elders and retirees.

the last census indicated that this was trending downward

Wheh yuh seh.. yuh nuh inna di More Cyar, Gyal and Cell-phone ??