Firearm holder, gunman shot dead

• Firearm holder, gunman shot dead

KINGSTON, Jamaica — A licensed firearm holder and a gunman are dead this morning after an exchange of gunfire.
    The licensed firearm holder has been identified as Winston Josephs, 48, businessman of a St Ann address.

1/1
    The gunman has not been identified.
    Reports are that the gunman rode up on a bicycle and robbed Josephs of his cell phone and other valuables as he walked along Saxthorpe Avenue, off Mannings Hill Road in St Andrew, minutes after six this morning.
    The gunman then shot Josephs who pulled his firearm and engaged the gunman.
    They both died on the spot.
    The police confiscated both firearms used in the incident.
    Several persons on the scene also identified the gunman as one who robbed them earlier in the morning.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2I44AIBsW

"Winston Josephs, 48, businessman of a St Ann address"

How dis sound like Billy?

RastaJawge ..... RIP Billy.

Does the sequence of events as reported sound logical?.. you rob the man then shoot him? I know we are dealing with people who do not think, and if they do, not logically... Could the businessman have drawn his weapon and then the firing ensued? This might sound callous but how useful did having a gun prove? Karl? comments?

Condolences to his family.

no Winston shot 1st...after giving the robber...then the he shot back

There are no guarantees and thugs will always have guns. How can we get the guns out of the hands of thugs?

it is a tough one, in america the debate is about gun control for legal ownership ... in the jamaica it is different and is exactly as you have stated it.

thugs by definition have no respect for the law, so there are only 3 ways to get the guns ... to know where they are buried/hidden, stop the inflow or removing it from their cold dead hands.

Does the sequence of events as reported sound logical?.. you rob the man then shoot him? I know we are dealing with people who do not think, and if they do, not logically... Could the businessman have drawn his weapon and then the firing ensued? This might sound callous but how useful did having a gun prove? Karl? comments?

Condolences to his family.
              If the 'gunman' did not have a gun?
              No shot dead Winston!

If Winston never had a gun?
              No shot dead 'gunman'!

At least 1 life could have been saved...maybe 2!

BAN the guns...save for the security forces.
              ...btw - In that 'ban gun state' pretty soon the gunmen would realise that the ordinary citizen is unarmed and many gunman would switch from 'shoot first and ask questions after' to just 'rob an move'...ooooh some 'dog-hearts' would still murder! ...but being BUDs their numbers would soon diminish!

blah blah blah ...but being BUDs their numbers would soon diminish!

Bandwidth is a terrible thing to waste.

...btw - In that 'ban gun state' pretty soon the gunmen would realise that the ordinary citizen is unarmed and many gunman would switch from 'shoot first and ask questions after' to just 'rob an move'...
                  So why would the gunman have a gun in the first place if the person he is robbing doesn't have a gun?

If the 'gunman' did not have a gun?
                    No shot dead Winston!

If Winston never had a gun?
                    No shot dead 'gunman'!

At least 1 life could have been saved...maybe 2!

BAN the guns...save for the security forces.
                    ...btw - In that 'ban gun state' pretty soon the gunmen would realise that the ordinary citizen is unarmed and many gunman would switch from 'shoot first and ask questions after' to just 'rob an move'...ooooh some 'dog-hearts' would still murder! ...but being BUDs their numbers would soon diminish!

Karl, this sound like the lyrics for a song....

if he doesn't have a gun, is he a gunman?

According to many of our policemen - YES!

They will find one for you after they shoot you dead!

Then he becomes a gunman l. If they plant a knife on him .... then clearly

if he doesn't have a gun, is he a gunman?
                            Tenk yuh, sah!
                            ...wen mi read wah Bricktop did seh, mi laf till mi nearly dead!

Furthest thing from my mind...but now you say it I should send it to my favourite rapper!