Phillips Says More Taxes, Wage Restraint Coming

The alternative is to work hard, produce, cut imports drastically, basically curb our foreign tastes and ridiculous consumption of foreign goods.

Are we ready to do this?

Ridiculous to hear the Portia talking about the bad economy she inherited. She and her party had 18 years to fix it!

And what if we cannot be taxed any more? Taxation has limits!

lol...bad economy...Portia needs to go like all a dem , the pragmatic approach is to cut certain programes and clear the red tape for business then prosecute white & blue collar crime without bias.

Kingston alone is a realestate dream waiting to happen, hardware and developmental property for these eye sores that have been wasting away since independence.

These clowns havent a clue , so the people must pay , yesss if dem caaan ear dem affi feel.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The SUVs now coming home to roost!

Yuh cyan ask people to hold strain in the face of conspicious consumption!

Who didnt see this coming?

20 member cabinet, can we afford that?

Hero status has its privileges

Improved collection of existing taxes is what I was hoping for.....nuff people not paying their share.

Portia already told us that we would be sick to expect politicians to have a poorer lifestyle just because they are in politics.

No one is expecting them to have a poorer lifestyle, but live within the means of what the country can afford. The economy soon collapse.

The problem is the promises and the fact that they wouldn't accept that there was a world recession and Jamaica was in a bad place."It was the JLP" that was the recession.

Fact is we are in a bad place and it will take a lot of digging. Funny to see Audley now calling for IMF info and Peter saying it can't be given at this time

yeeehhhh. Mi think a Audley did a the Tax Axe man.

A wonder if Mo pay him tickets for the second time.

Amen...$2.8 billion in uncollected traffic tickets...$3 billion in uncollected property taxes...instead of collecting those taxes they just tax those who pay more...unbelievable

Agreed, they admit the tax code has to be revamped from the 80s , up until now , nothing , poor people a feel it , well if people nuh come together and realise dat all a dem clueless and out fi dem tiefing self , Jamaica deserve wha dem get .....IMF ???????????????????????????????????

Madness!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Leave the word fact alone , you abuse it , seriously ! as if the JLP had a better plan , its the same damm one , IMF , IMF , IMF , IMF ...BTW arent you the joka dat rate di IMF ?

Wi dead now , wi cant borrow money (debt) fi pay down debt,ridiculous we all agree we that Jamaica, with a debt of between 130 to 140 per cent of GDP cannot borrow anymore , so why are we borrowing ?

The talk about borrowing from the IMF to pay down debt is a fallacy for third world nations, since independence we have been going this route , where are the progressives to negotiate with the bank of the South ? China , India , SA etc etc THE G20 to find a credible economic solution.

It isnt a bitter pill , its poison.
                              "The talk about borrowing from the IMF to pay down debt is a fallacy"

X, is that true? Does the IMF loan money to pay down debt?

what the IMF have to do with our debt? What the IMF have to do with our bad management??

Who you think would lend up money when we can't even pay for anything we export????? IMF is not our problem, our problem is our leaders, I will tell you again. IMF is merely a banker who want back his money. IMF is not the oppressor. We have a choice, take it or leave it.