Give Credit where it due

• Give Credit where it due

Following up the porfolio.. I was skeptical of the hype surrounding Lisa H and whether her performance would be clouded by her good looks. I must say she seems to be hard working and doing well. However I would to see her with another important porfolio to see how she would do. I am not saying youth and culture is not important but I think she is the ony bright light in the party.. the rest of them a some dunce.

Dem ganging up on har doh! Ugly Babsy can't stand a bone in har body!

yeah I think she did not handle the Jamaica 50 thing all that well, but it could be that babsy did not transitioning that well and so she did what she needed to do. I had some concern with how they treated mikey bennett and favoured shaggy but thats a personality thing moreso. I do see hard work from her and an understanding of what she is dealing with. Maybe is because the photographer just love tek her pic.. but she seems to be working harder and is more visible that the PM and the big portfolio people.. buntin is working hard also but i think the solutions are quite simple but him dragging his feet.

The solution is relatively simple but nuff people naw go like it. In Jamaica it's the NIMBY syndrome (not in my back yard). Not me not she but do it to the man behind the tree.

Former PNP state minister accuses administration of ineffect

Gov't not ready - Former PNP state minister accuses administration of ineffective management

Published: Monday | January 14, 2013 16 Comments

Former State Minister Errol Ennis. - File

Clarke

Thwaites

1 2 3 >

A former state minister during the P.J. Patterson era has come out swinging against his party, which now forms the Government.
          Errol Ennis, who served as junior agriculture minister as well as state minister in the finance ministry, has said the Portia Simpson Miller administration appears to be ill-prepared for governance, one year into its reign.

"The administration, in its performance to date, clearly demonstrates a lack of readiness and preparation for assuming the mantle of national leadership," Ennis said in a letter to the editor.

The former state minister, who served as member of parliament for West Portland for 18 years, has even suggested that a Cabinet reshuffle should take place.

Ennis said the current set of ministers, with the exception of Energy Minister Phillip Paulwell, Local Government Minister Noel Arscott, Education Minister Ronald Thwaites and Agriculture Minister Roger Clarke, "have demonstrated little or no ability to effectively manage their portfolio responsibilities".

Arguing that some ministers so far have been unable to develop and implement clear policy directions and issues pertinent to the public welfare, Ennis said "in many instances, internecine warfare is rife within most ministries and the political directorate seems incapable of addressing the problem".

He added: "It is reported that some agencies during the last administration became outreaches of the JLP and were packed with many political activists with no regard for the efficient conduct of those agencies."

Said Ennis: "One year after a new administration, this status quo is intact. This results in alarming inertias in these agencies due to incompatibility of political intent and administrative inertia."

He argued that "it is urgent that leadership within the administration find the wherewithal to enable the state machinery to operate in a manner that ensures the welfare of our people".

In the meantime, Ennis has also lashed the parliamentary opposition, saying its daily utterances indicate an inability to understand its role and function.

"It would seem that they interpret this role as one of being reactive and quarrelsome on every little issue rather than developing alternative policies for presentation to the general public," Ennis said.

He argued that "an increasing number of Jamaicans who have lost faith in the capacity of the Jamaican body politic to enhance the social and economic development of the state".

"The performances of our politicians, especially their daily utterances, often lack the ingredient of rigorous political debate and assessment and thus credibility," he added.

The retired politician has warned that if the conduct of our politics continues in the current manner "without an infusion of enhanced intellectual input, then the hopelessness of the Jamaican people will increase exponentially".

"The posturing of the political parties has clearly demonstrated an inability to come to grip with our problems. The other sectors of the Jamaican nation state pursue their own interest in total disregard to the overall well-being of the nation state. Therefore, this situation clearly suggests a lack of requisite leadership in all the critical areas of national life," Ennis argued.

Jiggs a make a comeback???

So maybe it is not that simple then, in terms of implementation.

this time reincarnated as ... what?

well if chester jackson is right, vaz is one of the reasons why jlp lost .... is this the new seaga syndrom? can win yuh seat but is a liability to the party otherwise?

There are many reasons why it is said the JLP lost, but one thing I know Vaz represent his constituents. If we had more MPs who did that we wouldn't be in such a bad shape. Jiggs left it crumbling.

Take a ride through the mountain and go on the otherside sometime. JLP have to look within themselves.

i shall .... plan to visit portie often ...

jlp won the popular votes in 07 by 2000...after 18 years of pnp mismanagement...what did u expect after mannat enquiry was broadcast don national t ?
                        Last edited by Skeng DX; January 14, 2013, 04:30 PM.

You know what I find funny. Entertain West Portland at the St.Mary Border, There is a big sign that say Welcome to West Portland and a picture of Vaz on it. It would have been nice if the authorities in Portland could even put a sign a quarter of that size to welcome people to Portland.

Enjoy yourself brethren. link me a give you a few brethren you can drink a beer with.

coconut water ....

yeah them can work up two Jelly water. LOL