These mindless killings must stop

Laws that will deter some criminals, I am mindful of the no drugs school zone,drug dealing continues in proximity of schools but it has been reduced and less blatant.
    We need to make the community a stakeholder, if a child getting murdered there leads to a temporary suspension of certain constitutional rights,as such homes can be searched resulting in getting illegal guns and unmasking whatever other illegal activities....
    In essence, you have the message,no killing of a minor in my community, and the residents eager to give up the killer to thwart police activities that invariably follows such killings.
    Thugs know that if they sell drugs near a school and are caught, the penalities are much more severe in the US. I would go further in that if a child is killed, or if there are significant numbers of people being killed, there is a suspension of certain rights etc.

Police need to investigate these Shop Owners.. especially the little girl !

you see thats the problem i have with the reggae doc comment of last week.. it nuh matter the background .. we need to get tougher..

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
          Thugs know that if they sell drugs near a school and are caught, the penalities are much more severe in the US. I would go further in that if a child is killed, or if there are significant numbers of people being killed, there is a suspension of certain rights etc.
          What yuh mean?

The police suggest that the killing was for "revenge against a friend of the shopkeeper"... one wonders what transgression took place to warrant such a brutal response... and "dem" need to investigate the shopkeeper to find out what company he/she is keeping... when all else fails blame the victims...

I hear you, makes sense.

I know you're probably thinking of abuse from security forces when it comes to constitutional rights. Excessive crime in a community, you lock it down. Everyone who comes & goes is subject to a search. Big man uptown where there is credible links to a gang, you tap his phone. Can you tap phones in Jamaica legally anyway?

Perfect retort to show that insensitive comments at the wrong time do hurt.

We have to take more care....

Dem was Chiney? Maybe that is a prerequisite.

Only innocent people get kill in Ja now? You all overdoing it now.....

What are you saying exactly?

The point is that a thorough investigation will/should (if successful) reveal all hopefully; identify the killer and establish motive including whether the victim was involved in any kind of "business" that contributed to his/her demise...