HELL break loose: Rosemount mourns double killing,

Originally posted by Me View Post
    And even less would be killed if it wasn't so easy to go and purchase one.
    ...if private citizens in JA had no guns!
    I give you the stats on number of gun murders previous to the flood of guns in JA after the 60s!

Commonsense suggests 'no guns', no death from guns!

Criminals purchase guns...from Haiti with the form of payment being Ganja...how banning legal firearm ownership gonna stop that?

I agree... my question was based on the quote below of a post by Reggaedoc regarding Mr Chung killed in Kingston. Rambaran sound like him is Indian... Indian mafia??

"No, but was he another criminal posing as a businessman and using gas stations to launder money. Sad indeed, but many of these Chinese and Lebanese Jamaican so-called businessmen are little more than criminals. Let's see what the investigations show before the bucket of tears." - Reggaedoc

Reggaedoc misspoke.

Criminals purchase guns...from Haiti with the form of payment being Ganja...how banning legal firearm ownership gonna stop that?
            Will reduce demand! ...as anyone outside of the security forces after such a ban seen with gun would be saying - I am a criminal! ...and thus "BUD"!

Currently there are so many licensed firearm holders than a criminal with a gun is assumed to be not a crimanal but a person entitled to legal possession of his gun or guns. ...thus transportation of guns for use in 'crimes of opportunity' or pre-planned criminal activities is just about risk-free....not a stretch to asssume the current situation (free movement and use of guns by criminals) has been and is being encouraged!!!

We need to get back to life imprisonment or death if found with an illegal gun. And we need to tighten up on our border control.

For starters.

Will reduce demand! ...as anyone outside of the security forces after such a ban seen with gun would be saying - I am a criminal! ...and thus "BUD"!

Currently there are so many licensed firearm holders than a criminal with a gun is assumed to be not a crimanal but a person entitled to legal possession of his gun or guns. ...thus transportation of guns for use in 'crimes of opportunity' or pre-planned criminal activities is just about risk-free....not a stretch to asssume the current situation (free movement and use of guns by criminals) has been and is being encouraged!!!
                Karl...that is rubbish...

I agree...if you are held with an illegal gun yuh gone forever...now man a get bail after 2 weeks for illegal firearm possession...we can't tighten our borders so let's forget bout that...just make the laws draconian...

Many countries in the world have such draconian laws. And it works!

Yes...I agree...

yuh naive bad, baba!

Karl, the UK has banned guns for years, but is the most violent country in the EU. There was even some discussion about banning kitchen knives too! Yuh nuh get it!

UK is violent crime capital of Europe

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/ukne...of-Europe.html

How many murders were by the gun?

UK is violent crime capital of Europe

The United Kingdom is the violent crime capital of Europe and has one of the highest rates of violence in the world, worse even than America, according to new research.

By Richard Edwards, Crime Correspondent 7:00AM BST 02 Jul 2009

Analysis of figures from the European Commission showed a 77 per cent increase in murders, robberies, assaults and sexual offences in the UK since Labour came to power.

The total number of violent offences recorded compared to population is higher than any other country in Europe, as well as America, Canada, Australia and South Africa.

Opposition leaders said the disclosures were a "damning indictment" of the Government's failure to tackle deep-rooted social problems.

The figures combined crime statistics for England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

The UK had a greater number of murders in 2007 than any other EU country – 927 – and at a relative rate higher than most western European neighbours, including France, Germany, Italy and Spain.

Significantly less as you can expect since its legal to own guns in the US. 58 Murders a year by Firearms in Britain, 8,775 in US. The focus should on the murder rate, which is higher than some US States.
                              http://libertarianhome.co.uk/2012/12...ome-us-states/

ha ha!

Hortical, yuh tek mi fi eediat. You said nothing in that thread. Of course the murder rate will be more than that in North Dakota!

But yu said enuff - 58 murders a year.

Thanks!