HELL break loose: Rosemount mourns double killing,

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
    Karl, the UK has banned guns for years, but is the most violent country in the EU. There was even some discussion about banning kitchen knives too! Yuh nuh get it!

UK is violent crime capital of Europe

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/ukne...of-Europe.html
    After banning guns & expiration of deadline for all legal guns held by private citizens to be turned in and an amnesty for guns 'found...and institutions of laws to support our 'gun free society':

The following should be borne in mind -

a) We are very small in terms of land mass (area). - *No where to hide!

b) Ease of anyone acquiring guns would become more difficult...- for sportsmen and women necessary background checks and reporting to the authorities; inspection with photographic evidence on how stored...etc., etc.

c) the cops and other arms of the security forces would be less at risk of mistakenly shooting private citizens as all outside of the security forces observed with a firearm would be approached with extreme caution and that person or those persons would be at risk of being recipients of deadly force from the security forces...and other private citizens (i.e. possiblity of being attacked without notice and deadly force used - Such use of deadly force being 'Law protected' as being attacked in self-defense. - defense of person or society).

b) Would also mean persons who currently traffic in guns would themselves be at risk of the security forces and the private citizen using deadly force to protect the rest of society.

...i.e. let us look at an extreme - guns imported...the transportation of the guns away from point of entry would put those transporting same under threat of security-forces or the private citizens using deadly force against such person or persons...as they would be in possession of illegal firearm(s). ...menance to the society.

Point being you have a gun once (observed) with same you become legal BUD!

There must be zero tolerance for private citizen being in possession of gun.

*Currently gunmen are 'hiding in plain sight' as merely being observed with a gun does not mean the person with the gun is a criminal. That option of 'hiding in plain sight' must be (would be) removed.

Violence will occur whether people have guns or knives or baseball bats. How yuh nuh comment bout crime in the UK is among the highest in the EU? The total number of all murders in the UK is 550.

*Currently gunmen are 'hiding in plain sight' as merely being observed with a gun does not mean the person with the gun is a criminal. That option of 'hiding in plain sight' must be (would be) removed.
        Karl...this is foolishness...if police see you waving a gun around you think they say "Ohh must be a legal firearm holder" and go about their business? If you are pulled over and a gun found in your vehicle you had better have your permit handy...

Happy looking couple

Teary-eyed residents who had gathered in front of the family home said the gunmen asked Anthony Rambaran his name about three times before proceeding to beat and kick him all over his body. The beating lasted for about 10 minutes before they turned their guns on the couple.

Anthony Rambaran was shot in the forehead while his wife was shot in the armpit and the right side of the neck. Both died on the spot. Mr Rambaran died at the side of the driveway while his wife took her last breath on an unfinished verandah near the front of their home.

Karl...this is foolishness...if police see you waving a gun around you think they say "Ohh must be a legal firearm holder" and go about their business? If you are pulled over and a gun found in your vehicle you had better have your permit handy...
            In Ja they do not always shoot that person immediately! If guns are banned they will - shoot that person immediately...and rightly so!

I don't think you can legally shoot someone if they have a gun sticking out of their waist...even in a countries where all weapons are barred...

Well we need that at the moment. Whether or not it shall be prudent to repeal same in the future is a different matter.

We need to get back to life imprisonment or death if found with an illegal gun. And we need to tighten up on our border control.

For starters.
                  I was thinking about the implementation of your first sentence.

As the your last sentence i placed in that funny color.... ....

America & Jamaica are too violent for a gun ban to be effective. Focus on criminals, not law abiding citizens.

Reggaedoc misspoke.
                      Agree that he did.

There is a saying... "from the abundance if the heart--the mouth speaks".

ReggaePhD was broaching a segment of crime that we often overlook. That portion that involves the movers and shakers of the Jamaican society.

It was unfortunate that the silly murder of this businessman was the catalyst for this discussion.

Now that 4 business people have been killed...I have (already) seen questions been asked about motive and reasons....

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                        America & Jamaica are too violent for a gun ban to be effective. Focus on criminals, not law abiding citizens.
                        USA is huge...there are places for the criminal to disapear!
                        Nuh weh nuh deh fi hide a yaard!

...and taking guns out of the society is concentration on criminals as 'no gun' no gun crime! Fewer guns, fewer criminals with guns should equal fewer gun crimes! It is simple a gun crime cannot be committed without a gun!

How many murders were by the gun?

UK is violent crime capital of Europe

The United Kingdom is the violent crime capital of Europe and has one of the highest rates of violence in the world, worse even than America, according to new research.

By Richard Edwards, Crime Correspondent 7:00AM BST 02 Jul 2009

Analysis of figures from the European Commission showed a 77 per cent increase in murders, robberies, assaults and sexual offences in the UK since Labour came to power.

The total number of violent offences recorded compared to population is higher than any other country in Europe, as well as America, Canada, Australia and South Africa.

Opposition leaders said the disclosures were a "damning indictment" of the Government's failure to tackle deep-rooted social problems.

The figures combined crime statistics for England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

The UK had a greater number of murders in 2007 than any other EU country – 927 – and at a relative rate higher than most western European neighbours, including France, Germany, Italy and Spain.
                          The UK also has the highest number of Jamaicans in the EU.

Not the victims...but the circumstances that lead to their death should be investigated...you don't get shot and killed, beaten and not robbed if sittin nuh inna sittin...
                            Tell him Bricky. It would be naive to think otherwise, especially in a country where crime and corruption is endemic at every level.

Karl, police really believe they should be the only one with guns, anyone seen with a firearm is sure to get stopped and interrogated.
                              Banning license firearm would not change anything,in fact,you would likely get those decent people to oblige but not even a single illegal weapon would be turned in.So what we have is a situation where we disarm decent people leaving the criminal with the only guns,criminals that have already eluded police detection..
                              Remember now, there is a ban already in place(illegal weapons) and it is clearly useless.
                              The BIGGEST reason why I am against such a ban is Govt should never be trusted with absolute control of weapons.

Reggaedoc, I only asked the question based on your response to Mr. Chung's killing... I am not saying one thing or another, simply asking if you feel the same way about this couple... the reaction is one of outrage... should we hold the tears? how and when do you think it is allowable to immediately express the outrage? Is this couple probably involved in something underhanded?