• Music to soothe the soul....

...of the savage beast...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TH-Q7Q8SeZQ

Enjoyable Selection!

Wonderful selection, HL, boss!

I listened to this twice through my headphones, and while I didn’t understand much of the lyrics (aside from the “Yeah Mon” and “Yes I”)), as far as the rhythm is concerned, this is good quality Caribbean-fusion music!

Alpha Blondy has taken reggae music to new levels in Africa as well as Europe and elsewhere (somewhat like the late Lucky Dubed did), but I am still surprised at this soca-type “Vuveleza” song rhythm from Mr. Alpa Blondy himself (lol)!

By the way, in the case of Willi’s allusion to the Eagles’ “Hotel California” (that is, his oblique reference in an earlier thread -- a metaphoric comment on Jamaica’s failures), in the lyrics by Eagles’ songwriters Don Henley, Glen Frey and Don Felder, the trapped hoteliers FAILED to “kill the beast” with their “steely knives.” (Food for thought, Willi?)

But back to the topic at hand, this is an enjoyable Alpha Blondy selection!

@ TDowl

TDowl, I belatedly saw your Gaylads post last night. I enjoyed your selection, although “Lady With the Red Dress On” is by far my favorite recording by this classic group.

I did not get most of it either...but it was a song about AIDS prevention.

Alpha Blondie as you well know is international. He has some renditions in english. His repertoire is not limited to one genre.

Don't know if you noticed, but the forum has been heating up!! Some of the forum bulls are in must.

You do mean, in musk. Right?

Now why would any of us want to do that? On this Forum!?!?

Indeed..musK!!

Thanks!

But yes, the forum bulls here need to calm down .

The funny thing is that we fail to see our needs and requirements (irrespective of our positions) are the same.

Oh Mosiah...

I knew I read some years ago on this spelling. But Musk is also correct.

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_does_..._to_be_in_must

OR:

musth or must (mʌst) n ( often preceded by in ) a state of frenzied sexual excitement in the males of certain large mammals, esp elephants, associated with discharge from a gland between the ear and eye [C19: from Urdu mast, from Persian: drunk] must or must n [C19: from Urdu mast, from Persian: drunk]
              Last edited by HL; January 8, 2013, 10:54 PM.

My humble contribution:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90A-spXBJXU

nice version

http://youtu.be/BOZwU15ElOA

Nice version, i know it...but this is the version i grew-up with. I'm sure you know it.
                    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tz1yjKMIfD0

sade did a version too ... that is my favourite remake

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=clbqKFM5oQY

Very nice!!!!!!

Protect your vuvuzela
                          Before doing Waka Waka

Protect your Vuvuzela
                          Because AIDS is out there

I am not a giver of lessons (I don't mean to lecture)
                          It's a question of protection,
                          For all generations
                          Without exception

Vuvuzela protected
                          Waka Waka secured

When there is no danger
                          The vuvuzela can sound

We aren't givers of lessons (lecturers)
                          It's a question of protection,
                          For all generations
                          Without exception

========
                          That's basically the extent of the lyrics; my rough translation.
                          I suppose the use of "vuvuzela" and "waka waka" are symbolic of the sex organs and act...

..and having done that I coud waka waka wid some ah dem gyal deh... of course vuvuzela would be fully protected..

of course that would be if i were back in my youthful days and not happily married... coming dear!

Either tinga or roman Stewart also did a version will look for it