• Going back in time in Jamaica

Going back in time in Jamaica

As soon as you land in Jamaica, be it in Kingston or Montego Bay, the first thing you will notice is the country’s soundtrack. It is ever present. Wherever you go, the reggae, dancehall and ska music will follow. Roll down the car window to see the street sellers with their Rastafarian artwork and hear the fast and expressive patois being spoken.

http://www.bbc.com/travel/feature/20...ime-in-jamaica

Nice! I still haven't spent much time in that part of JA. Need to spend a long weekend in Treasure Beach.

Too much development going in the Whitehouse area...houses and houses...I wonder where all the sewage is going? Treasure Beach is good...until everyone rushes in....

yeah good piece.

Good but not accurate.

...and Lovers Leap, a 4,800m cliff overhanging the sea from where two slaves once leapt to their death for fear of being separated.
          That would make it by far the highest point in Jamaica at 15,750 ft! It would still not be accurate if it were 4,800 ft. It is more like 1700 ft.

While we are it, what's the highest peak in St. Elizabeth?

Good observation...I know Blue Mountain is 7, 402' but who cares about St Beth? Somewhere around 3,700' I think..the JoHn Crow.

Who care bout St. Bess? You cared enough to leave your mark there though!

Munro College is the highest point in St. Bess, at around 2,500 ft.

thought that was the answer but wasn't sure. The only Peaks I have been is Bull head in Clarendon, Blue Mountain.

Anyway good to see this article on the front page of the BBC.

you have mocho and john crow mountains too...

yeah. John Crow and Blue Mountain is not too far from each other.

So whe d John Crow peak deh? Westmoreland?

Stop spread propaganda pan d dread!