Are Cabinet discussions above the OCG law?

And cause yuih say man an man mix up Jam with the US, mek mi ask yuh;

Who is the most POWERFUL Jakan official?
    Answer below...

Queen Elizabeth of Jamaica!

She has the absolute power to dissolve parliament at any time.

PM in Jam can call election anytime with minimal notice and effectively lead to the dissolution of parliament.

President cant do that!
      President holds no such sway over Congress.

Congress can impeach the Prez.

LOL yuh come back wid di said nonsense

Betta yuh did stay far... yuh ah embarrass yuhself now

willi that's the whole concept of separation of powers. The framers dd nt like anything that resembles monarchy. If congress supreme, why did obamacare go before the supreme court?

The constitution created congress.Now run along.

Congress passed a law saying it's illegal to have guns in a school zone. Lopez was found with a gun in school in Texas. Supreme court ruled that the law congress passed was unconstitutional. I'm ere hoping and praying that you see the relevance.

willi that's the whole concept of separation of powers. The framers dd nt like anything that resembles monarchy. If congress supreme, why did obamacare go before the supreme court?
                woiiee mi belly!!

Kindly explain how a body is FORCED to accept the edicts of their supposedly equal counterpart ....namely the Constitutional revisions enacted by Congress which the Supreme Court is OBLIGED to enforce

And since you are no constitutional scholar nor is anyone else here as far as I can determine...references to case law which require expert interpretation are mere red herrings and are ultra vires to this discussion (although I recall Sass waxing poetic on the minutiae of arcane IP law a while back..so he may be helpful )

The 3 branches check each other...but in the final analysis Congress has a superior position due to its control of the constitution...and the purse strings

Thanks in advance
                  It is true that courts are supposed to interpret laws not make them but the reality is that the court can create new laws from the bench and there is no need to ratify the court new laws.

The US Congress is checked by the state ratification process and I don't think congress can interpret any law. The court can both interpret laws and legislate from the bench.

Both of you have some good points. Maybe Jawge is correct that they are equal.

There are checks at every level...no branch is unfettered

A perfectly equal division of power does not exist in nature much less in human activity...there is ALWAYS a ranking of power

The branch which can both initiate change in the supreme law AND has power over the nation's money is clearly in a superior position///\\\

Money rules every time

"The US Congress is checked by the state ratification process and I don't think congress can interpret any law"

Please say it again time because he belives congress can just run and amend the constitution at willy nilly. He still doesn't get it that congress was designed to protect the people from govt. They had to fight to get a bicameral system. Confederacy was the leading option at one point.

So now it's down to your opinion. Why didn't you just say this from the outset. Thanks for your opinion.

LOL...yuh ave sense yute?? Den nuh muss fimi opinion since mi represent miself

Whe yuh write yasso is smaddy else opinion? Or is nat an opinion at all?? LOL
                          Last edited by Don1; January 9, 2013, 12:50 AM.

Genius I wrote that the supreme court struck down a law passed by congress by deeming the US vs Lopez case unconstitutional. Is that my opinion? I now see where the problem lies. Happy trails.

nope not that particular bit of irrelevance. You are definitely not a constitutional scholar so your citing of case law is ludicrous...

I was referring to your OPINION that the Supreme Court is the equal of Congress
                              Last edited by Don1; January 9, 2013, 01:29 AM.

And Congress if they unite can override that too by amending the constitution!