• Africa: Where black is not really beautiful

Africa: Where black is not really beautiful

South Africa is marketed to the world as Mandela's rainbow nation, where everyone is proud of their race and heritage. But for some black South Africans there is such a thing as being too black.

A recent study by the University of Cape Town suggests that one woman in three in South Africa bleaches her skin. The reasons for this are as varied as the cultures in this country but most people say they use skin-lighteners because they want "white skin".

Local musician Nomasonto "Mshoza" Mnisi, now several shades lighter, says her new skin makes her feel more beautiful and confident.

She has been widely criticised in the local media and social networking sites for her appearance but the 30-year-old says skin-bleaching is a personal choice, no different from breast implants or a having nose job.

(continue)

Thanks for sharing this thread. No can you give your thoughts on the matter; seeing that you posted it. I can see that you have some strong feelings about the matter.

Noice New Year's treat fram yuh

Babylon spread dem likkle germs philosophy far n wide
      Last edited by Don1; January 1, 2013, 05:21 PM.

I think it goes both ways.

TANNING is a multi-million industry. I would guess it surpasses the bleaching industry.

Every group tend to like (prefer) what the other has.....

It could be so HL and possibly the reason zeppo posted it

Babylon get blame fi everyting...what about personal responsibility?

No doubt the if you are...stay back,....stick around,...you are alright is very much in effect.
              Babylon facilitates it with the help of the media.
              We, as a nation, are not having the right discussions. Case in point, the question should never be will Phillips ever be successful in getting an IMF agreement signed but if one should be signed.

I think the bigger discussion is IRRESPECTIVE of whether it is signed, What is the short, medium and long term PLAN.

I don't see it that way at all.

The ostriches are out with their typical myopic views

It seems they are unaware of or unconcerned about the scientific evidence documenting the perversive effects of white supremacist philosophies on people of African descent.... even black kids 3-4 years old who consistently choose white featured dolls etc as "superior"

One can begin to understand the perverse brilliance of the white supremacy philosophy by reviewing all the Blacks who worship a lily white blue-eyed God

Got to hand it to Babylon.... in social engineering terms the mass psychosis they have created is world class...The greatest Snow Job in the history of the planet

We should lease out the island for 50 years and just collect a rent money ah month end.. we would be MUCH better off..

I think after 40 years of record setting ineptitude (3 Terms aside) we have seen enough...

Time wi face reality... and certain man put dem egos one side..

Not even close.

Yuh need to see the mass psychosis put on pon dem owna white people!
                        Look pon how Romney come close after denouncing 47%. If black people is 13% and Latins 10%, dat still leaves 24% which is 95+% white. Babylon done with giving white people crumbs and a plan baxide fi hevvrybaddy.

Tory coming to bump.

For the prison industrial complex to keep growing, it have to reach far beyond the low hanging fruit of black people who are max 13% of the population. Yuh haffi draw down pon white peeps. Do the maths.