• LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Traffic Ticket Travesty

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Traffic Ticket Travesty

Published: Monday December 31, 2012 | 12:26 pm5 Comments

The line at the Constant Spring Road Tax Office has extended hundreds of metres onto the main road - Daviot Kelly/Photographer
    THE EDITOR, Sir:

Over the past few days tax offices have been teeming with thousands of motorists rushing to pay outstanding tickets before the amnesty expired.

Many complained that they had attended court and been exonerated or they had paid the fines and their names were still on the traffic authority’s website as having outstanding tickets.

A tax office official admitted on TV that they had no way of verifying these complaints as there was no link between the tax office records and the courts.

But almost everyone went and paid as a senior policeman was on TV threatening serious consequences.

A friend asked if I had checked the website for my name. I hadn’t because I knew I had no outstanding tickets. She insisted and volunteered to look, so I gave her my TRN.

Lo and behold my name was on the list for an outstanding ticket from 2007! I had attended court in St Ann and paid a fine of $3,000 for the offence. But there was my name. My friend insisted that I go and pay as everyone was paying again for fear of the consequences. I did not pay it.

The system is obviously flawed. Their tax office payment records need to be linked to the court records. Having a campaign to collect outstanding fines without fixing the system and threatening people with imprisonment shows the contempt the authorities have for the people. But then again…if people are willing to line up for hours to pay one fine twice, why fix it?

COLIN WHEELER
    colinlwheeler@hotmail.com

Well, a straight to jail fi me, because dem website list 4 tickets fi mi and mi know mi pay every last one a dem.

Di ting tun up fi true!

yuh have yuh receipt ?

From 2006 and 2007?

I have tumbleweed in mi driveway dat is more recent dan dat!

well.. mi will visit yuh ah Jail.. what yuh like barbecue or original ??

any one a dem. just mek sure is di breast!

Tanks!

A few people I know well is complaining. Bwoy you want tell me a so our system messed up bad????

So them soon stop you a airport too????

Well, mi hear people a pay pon dem tickets dat dem pay arready. Mi nuh have dem kinda money deh.

Dem will have to do whatever dem feel like do.

Maudib say him a go carry KFC fi mi a prison. Just hope mi can eat it in piece and nuh haffi use it as currency.

No worry just embark pon a cruise. LOL

Mi criticise government too much and mi nuh want make this political at all because people who owe fi pay but not who nuh owe. They said they sorted it out about 6 months ago and did nothing. And TAJ want power to stop people at airport?

Them cyaan lock up a soul because some "big man" will be found in the same position. Das why Bruce Bicknell did waan pay off di police because him cyaan trust di ticket system!