• NWC Unable To Collect Nearly $4b From 102 Communities

SEEING 'RED' - NWC Unable To Collect Nearly $4b From 102 Communities
    Published: Sunday | December 30, 2012 21 Comments
    Erica Virtue, Senior Gleaner Writer

The National Water Commission's (NWC) mantra is 'We would rather collect than disconnect', but in more than 100 communities across the island, the state entity appears neither able to collect nor disconnect for the more than $3.5 billion it is owed.

Labelling these communities 'red areas', the NWC teams are locked out by blatant criminality and other ills.

Weeks before it asks the Office of Utilities Regulation (OUR) to allow it to charge paying customers more, the NWC has confirmed that more than a million residents in inner-city communities islandwide are using the water it supplies without paying.

The NWC has argued that it needs a tariff increase as the rates it charges Jamaicans for potable water is relatively low and its last price hike was in 2008.

With a customer base of just over 400,000, the NWC said the figure is a fraction of the number of persons who actually benefit on a daily basis.

Responding to questions from The Sunday Gleaner, the NWC said the $3.5 billion is owed by individuals in 102 red areas across the island as at November 30, 2012.

The company said although it "bills, and continues to bill individual premises for water consumed", it is only able to collect between five and 15 per cent of the total bills from these red areas.

GREAT DEBT IN CORPORATE AREA

Several of the red areas are in Kingston and St Andrew, with non-paying residents in six communities owing a combined $1.143 billion - a debt which continues to grow every year.

Heading the list is Seaview Gardens, a community in the constituency of St Andrew Western, where persons using water provided by the NWC owe $372 million. That is a bill which has grown from $45 million in 1997.

The constituency has voted for the ruling People's National Party (PNP) in the last six general elections. Its current member of parliament (MP) is the PNP's deputy chairman, and the minister of industry, investment and commerce, Anthony Hylton.

The community is also among those listed as the largest users of electricity stolen from the Jamaica Public Service Company (JPS).

Water thieves in Tivoli Gardens, a community in the constituency of Kingston Western which has voted for the Opposition Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) since 1962, owe the NWC $270 million.

Residents in Denham Town, another community in the constituency of Kingston Western, owe the NWC $227 million.

The constituency has been represented by two former JLP leaders in Edward Seaga and Bruce Golding. The current MP is Desmond McKenzie, the former mayor of Kingston.

Residents in three communities in the constituency of St Andrew South, which is represented by the PNP's Dr Omar Davies, owe a combined $274 million.

In Jones Town, the residents owe the NWC $152 million, while over in the neighbouring Arnett Gardens, residents owe $66 million.

In the neighbouring Trench Town, the residents owe $56 million.

WORKING ON STRATEGIES

According to the NWC, it is prepared to go after these persons and others who owe it billions more.

"We are actually owed some $15 billion from all the sectors - not just the $3.5 billion owed by the residents in these inner-city communities," NWC Vice-President David Geddes told The Sunday Gleaner.

"We are trying to collect from all our debtors and we are devising strategies to collect," added Geddes.

He said the NWC's Legal Affairs Division and its Customer Service Delivery Division are spearheading the drive to collect the outstanding amounts.

"We are using demand letters, we are looking at the legal process, which could involve seizing and auctioning properties, and we are looking at instances where the Government might be liable for the debt as persons could be living on state-owned properties," said Geddes.

"Reducing the entire debt portfolio is a priority."

SEEKING HELP

The Sunday Gleaner also understands that the NWC has also made MPs aware of the level of indebtedness by residents in their constituencies in an effort to get the political representatives to help the company to clear the arrears, but this was not confirmed by Geddes.

While the NWC has just over 400,000 registered accounts, it supplies about two million persons across the island.

The cheats steal water mainly by making illegal connections to the NWC mains. However, in some instances, they steal from public entities such as schools and hospitals.

erica.virtue@gleanerjm.com

Seaview Gardens

$372 MILLION

Tivoli Gardens

$270 MILLION

Denham Town

$227 MILLION

I ain't paying for nobody water...send in the f@cking artillery...shell dem down wit di grizzly unnuh confiscate from Tivoli...what kinda assness is this?

People Power ?

Model Community Power!

Seaview Gardens

$372 MILLION

Tivoli Gardens

$270 MILLION

Denham Town

$227 MILLION

Yuh short bout 3.3 Billion.. wheh mek ?

A bet there's a PhD. somewhere in the NWC leadership.

Such poor efficiency is almost all local systems.

I am with you. Enemies of the state should be treated as such.

Yet we expect fe have free ****** beach wid clean toilet.

Dat come from all over. But there was only one self-styled model community!

Alwin Hales, PhD Permanent Secretary is the brilliant executive behind the scenes.

SEEING 'RED' - NWC Unable To Collect Nearly $4b From 102 Communities
                    Published: Sunday | December 30, 2012 21 Comments
                    Erica Virtue, Senior Gleaner Writer

The National Water Commission's (NWC) mantra is 'We would rather collect than disconnect', but in more than 100 communities across the island, the state entity appears neither able to collect nor disconnect for the more than $3.5 billion it is owed.

Labelling these communities 'red areas', the NWC teams are locked out by blatant criminality and other ills.

Weeks before it asks the Office of Utilities Regulation (OUR) to allow it to charge paying customers more, the NWC has confirmed that more than a million residents in inner-city communities islandwide are using the water it supplies without paying.

The NWC has argued that it needs a tariff increase as the rates it charges Jamaicans for potable water is relatively low and its last price hike was in 2008.

With a customer base of just over 400,000, the NWC said the figure is a fraction of the number of persons who actually benefit on a daily basis.

Responding to questions from The Sunday Gleaner, the NWC said the $3.5 billion is owed by individuals in 102 red areas across the island as at November 30, 2012.

The company said although it "bills, and continues to bill individual premises for water consumed", it is only able to collect between five and 15 per cent of the total bills from these red areas.

GREAT DEBT IN CORPORATE AREA

Several of the red areas are in Kingston and St Andrew, with non-paying residents in six communities owing a combined $1.143 billion - a debt which continues to grow every year.

Heading the list is Seaview Gardens, a community in the constituency of St Andrew Western, where persons using water provided by the NWC owe $372 million. That is a bill which has grown from $45 million in 1997.

The constituency has voted for the ruling People's National Party (PNP) in the last six general elections. Its current member of parliament (MP) is the PNP's deputy chairman, and the minister of industry, investment and commerce, Anthony Hylton.

The community is also among those listed as the largest users of electricity stolen from the Jamaica Public Service Company (JPS).

Water thieves in Tivoli Gardens, a community in the constituency of Kingston Western which has voted for the Opposition Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) since 1962, owe the NWC $270 million.

Residents in Denham Town, another community in the constituency of Kingston Western, owe the NWC $227 million.

The constituency has been represented by two former JLP leaders in Edward Seaga and Bruce Golding. The current MP is Desmond McKenzie, the former mayor of Kingston.

Residents in three communities in the constituency of St Andrew South, which is represented by the PNP's Dr Omar Davies, owe a combined $274 million.

In Jones Town, the residents owe the NWC $152 million, while over in the neighbouring Arnett Gardens, residents owe $66 million.

In the neighbouring Trench Town, the residents owe $56 million.

WORKING ON STRATEGIES

According to the NWC, it is prepared to go after these persons and others who owe it billions more.

"We are actually owed some $15 billion from all the sectors - not just the $3.5 billion owed by the residents in these inner-city communities," NWC Vice-President David Geddes told The Sunday Gleaner.

"We are trying to collect from all our debtors and we are devising strategies to collect," added Geddes.

He said the NWC's Legal Affairs Division and its Customer Service Delivery Division are spearheading the drive to collect the outstanding amounts.

"We are using demand letters, we are looking at the legal process, which could involve seizing and auctioning properties, and we are looking at instances where the Government might be liable for the debt as persons could be living on state-owned properties," said Geddes.

"Reducing the entire debt portfolio is a priority."

SEEKING HELP

The Sunday Gleaner also understands that the NWC has also made MPs aware of the level of indebtedness by residents in their constituencies in an effort to get the political representatives to help the company to clear the arrears, but this was not confirmed by Geddes.

While the NWC has just over 400,000 registered accounts, it supplies about two million persons across the island.

The cheats steal water mainly by making illegal connections to the NWC mains. However, in some instances, they steal from public entities such as schools and hospitals.

erica.virtue@gleanerjm.com

Seaview Gardens

$372 MILLION

Tivoli Gardens

$270 MILLION

Denham Town

$227 MILLION
                    Water welfare is a must or diseases will break out. However people who do not pay tend to waste resources. We need a system where the inner city rates are fraction of the standard rate and the tax payers foot the lost revenue.

And the same thing goes for electricity. If those who bridge light have to revert to candles and lamps, we would not have enough fire engines to put out fires around Jamaica.

Yes, it sound a way, but this is the reality that governments have to deal with.

This is a case of thief a thief from Thief.

NWC a one of the biggest thief especially to poor country people. Them give you meter and all when no water nuh come inna the pipe them a charge you for it. Even when you complain you can't get nuh water and the bills not stop coming.

the best of the rest..

So them must be allowed to string up sound system box and dance all night pon other people bill?

Of course they should not have to live in darkness, BUT they must be either forcibly restricted in the amount of electricity they are allowed to use or they should be paying for usage in excess of that.

The ones down there using the most electricity CAN afford to pay. Do you disagree? I bet nuff a dem light bill higher than my elderly relative who live up a Devon Square. But she nuh have nuh glock nor bushmaster so....

I-Man, is our govts. that caused all of this in the first place. Had they not fvcked the country over the years, including way before Independence, we would not have found ourselves in this mess.

Don't know what the solution is but mi waan see dem tek whe light and water from these communities and see what happen.

Di cable now, dat is a different ting!

By the way, I was downtown the other day in the area called South near Harbour Street. Two youths were sitting on the sidewalk with their laptops doing whatever. I wanted to take a picture but didn't feel like have two teenagers tell me about my mother in stereo. Was happy for them though. I hear Grace Kennedy, whose head office occupies a few blocks down there, has made wi-fi available to the residents there.

Nice!