Fossil Fuel vs Solar energy in Jamaica

Why was Nanosolar not given the courtesy of an invitation after contact was established ???

Prison mi seh...

Why store much when most excess should be sold to the grid and you pull from the grid when yuh short.
      You store because sunlight is not continuous to provide constant supply of electricity. So the battery system stores the excess when there is sunlight and the batteries provide the power during night or on a cloudy day. You can sell back to the grid when you have excess supply when you exceed your storage capacity.

Years ago I heard of a Texan breakthru where they had thin, cheap PV rolls like rolls of tin foil. Ten there is cheap solar which consists of wooden frames with glass panels and copper tubes with water running thru them and getting superheated. This water would form steam to drive turbines. I did hear that T Boones Pickens was gonna make massive investment in deserts in America to mek a killing off this like 7 years ago.
      Nanosolar which is a cheaper process of producing PVs on thin foil was supposed to cause a majur reduction in price. It usually takes time and money to poof new technology for market. I know T Boon Pickens had a plan for wind energy, but withdrew from it after claiming that he lost his ass to the wind. Maybe he was not willing to make a similar gamble on solar. From back about 2009, I know he has been pushing natural gas as an alternative to oil as fuel.

Finally I recall hearing how Suncor, the Chinese mega manufacturer f PV panels was running excess and how prices was gonna plunge. In America, I know people who se depeleted PV panels they get for free from installation. though they only have like 75% of the efficiency of newer panels, free ensures that they can use them in homes economically. I recall getting some plans a few years back and even emailed the PDFs to 1of1 here. Not sure how he used them. If I can find them, I will share with whoever wants them.
      Prices obviously have not plunged to the levels to make solar more affordable at this time. The things which will cause substantial sustainable reduction in cost of PVs are economies of scale, better material utilization and improved process and module efficiencies.

A supplier only having excess stock at a point in time could only serve for a momentary blip in the scale when it comes to drop in price. I would not think that is enough for consumers to bank their hard earned money on at this time.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Nanosolar never pass di due-diligence of the Minister of Energy.. clearly...

lol ! woiee !

Mi nearly ded...

Tilla, red my post again.

I was proffering an organising principle.

Unless yuh bound and determined to get off the grid, we could have a system where we store next to nothing and sell all excess to the grid and pull when we need it. At the extreme, it would mean that if all had PV setups at home, we woul use solar in the day and only use fossil fuel electricity at night, and instant 50% reduction of FF demand.