• Fossil Fuel vs Solar energy in Jamaica

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bBQZYvp14vA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gNSISA4PaZ4

program starts at 1.17

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W57yJdFdQQc

Government could mandate that all government agencies go solar, save billions, still waiting for the pro active push from any party, pure imf lipservice b.s
    Last edited by Sir X; December 30, 2012, 09:09 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Solar? Do you know the long term cost of solar? Until the cost of storage is significantly reduced solar is but a pipe dream...

Enlighten Mr Ventura & us of course.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The cost to consumers for coal generated electricity currently averages around $0.10/kWh. Due to the efficiencies and cost of commercial PV modules solar generated electricity remains uncompetitive with this cheap coal-powered electricity, averaging closer to $0.27/kWh.
        Which is why you and i are still connected to the grid...

Yes, if you do a cost/benefit analysis, it is usually found that payback on the investment in equipment could be many years as well. This could improve however if there is a substantial reduction in the cost of PV panels for these solar systems in the coming years.

So while we look at it that energy from the sun is free, harnessing of this resource comes at a cost. Unless the government is more focused on green energy and minimizing our carbon footprint than being cost effective, going solar now may not be as affordable as seen from a casual point of view. It could take years (15 to 20) to recoup your initial investment and by that time, you may have to start replacing equipment as they may be past their usefulness. This requires careful analysis. . .
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Thanks for the lesson

Yuh mek mi soun' like mi is teacha. Anyway, my pleasure sar!
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yes...It sounds good but when you do the research you realize what you are getting in to...I was ready to make the switch...until I saw the cost of the storage batteries and their lifecycle...you gonna be shelling out for new cells every 10 years...hell to the no...

Isnt there any green technology that will beneit Jamaica ? what about Bio Fuels or Water etc etc , a mean we have natural resources that can be harnested ....when I see Bio--- yuh know I am looking at ganja as di Bio ..I am serious.

Yes man, batteries are expensive. When you think of it that you will have to consider replacing them after 10 years, then it really brings it home about the cost effectiveness this sysyem at this time.

Why store much when most excess should be sold to the grid and you pull from the grid when yuh short.

Years ago I heard of a Texan breakthru where they had thin, cheap PV rolls like rolls of tin foil. Ten there is cheap solar which consists of wooden frames with glass panels and copper tubes with water running thru them and getting superheated. This water would form steam to drive turbines. I did hear that T Boones Pickens was gonna make massive investment in deserts in America to mek a killing off this like 7 years ago.

Finally I recall hearing how Suncor, the Chinese mega manufacturer f PV panels was running excess and how prices was gonna plunge. In America, I know people who se depeleted PV panels they get for free from installation. though they only have like 75% of the efficiency of newer panels, free ensures that they can use them in homes economically. I recall getting some plans a few years back and even emailed the PDFs to 1of1 here. Not sure how he used them. If I can find them, I will share with whoever wants them.

Yes an intelligent grid and an efficient way to distribute has to be in place for it to work on any serious scale.

PCJ has been doing some work with wind energy, seems to be more feasible at this time. Don't know how successful it has been but here is an 2011 article on Wigton Windfarm :

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...business1.html

Solar? Do you know the long term cost of solar? Until the cost of storage is significantly reduced solar is but a pipe dream...
                            Agree with you Bricky. The world is not ready for alternative energy. This does not mean that we shouldn't work towards it. It is more for saving the environment than for reducing cost.

It is not an issue of Technology or lack of understanding of which renewable source is viable and how to implement it.. why is there no bankable wind data for the Island ?

Jamaican terrain lends itself to 'natural storage' techniques.. so storage is not a problem..

No wind power integrator can get money without bankable wind data...

Some people need fi guh prison.. mi keep telling unnuh...