Obama's Chicago, High on Homicides

• Obama's Chicago, High on Homicides

Obama & Emanuel must be proud. Chicago has the tuffest gun laws of any city in America, and is now boasting 500 murders in 2012. The gun restrictions seem to be very effective.

http://usnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2012...e-of-2012?lite

And they also have the most illegal guns going there from abroad and cities and states with lax gun laws.

So I am not sure why they would be proud.

Cannot see why you would think either man would have a reason to be proud. Chicago has been fighting high murder rates for a long time and have had those same gun laws in place well before Obama and Emanuel came into power. Can't see why you want to put the blame at their feet for this problem.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

So is Mr Pickens misguided?...

Larry Pickens, who is running in the special election in the 2nd Congressional seat, offered a few suggestions Thursday: "Teaching our young people alternative dispute resolution, non-violent strategies for addressing conflict and getting guns off the street."

Hortical must be part of the NRA. Is same way they quick to post these stories.

Not misguided but like most politicians probably just saying what sounds good and not really addressing the core issues affecting Chicago inner cities.

Of course these are problems that pre-date Obama and Emmanuel...unfortunately they haven't been able to do much to solve them,

http://6thfloor.blogs.nytimes.com/20...y-has-changed/

Much longer article:

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/19/ma...1&ref=magazine

What a contrast to this:

--------------------------------------------------------------------
              NYC expects 2012 to have fewest murders on record

December 28, 2012 12:34 PM EST |

NEW YORK — The number of New York City murders is expected to hit a record low this year, and shootings are at their lowest point in at least 18 years.

Mayor Michael Bloomberg and Police Commissioner Raymond Kelly credited police efforts as they announced the statistics Friday.

So far, there have been 414 homicides citywide this year. That's the fewest since reliable record-keeping for homicides began in 1963. The previous low was 471, in 2009.

There have been 1,353 shootings this year. Comparable records for shootings go back to 1994. The prior low was 1,420 in 2009.

Bloomberg often calls New York the safest big city in America.

The description is based on FBI statistics for seven major crimes. New York has the lowest rate per 100,000 residents among the 25 most populous U.S. cities.

So much for gun control!

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...ecline-in-2011

1,125 homicides in Jamaica in 2011, DOWN from the year 2010. Jamaica's population is no larger than Chicago's. Jamaica is the NRA's Exhibit A of what happens when ordinary, law-abiding citizens cannot own guns, but the bad guys can have all the guns they want. Even the police are out-gunned.

For the record, I do not own a gun.

Looks like scarcasm nuh in a some vocabulary. Issues of violence in the innercities can not be solved with paramiliary type police strategies. Don't look to politicians as saviors, and most of dem have dem eye on the next election and are not willing to put the work in for out of the box solutions. Oh the buck stops with Emanuel, not his precedessor. The greatest indicator of someone prone to violence is a chaotic family structure & low level educational attainment. Tek a walk to your local jail and chat to those under lockdown!