Makes some good points, but i wished the goodly professor would have charged UWI and the other universities to provide some leadership in this regard.
BTW The equipment costs for ICT education is getting closer to being a non-issue. This $35 computer board that runs Linux is the latest rage in hacker circles, they cannot manufacture enough of them to satisfy demand.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
From wikipedia (edited)
"Raspberry Pi"
The Raspberry Pi is a credit-card-sized single-board computer developed in the UK by the Raspberry Pi Foundation with the intention of stimulating the teaching of basic computer science in schools.
The Raspberry Pi is manufactured through licensed manufacturing deals with Element 14/Premier Farnell and RS Electronics. Both of these companies sell the Raspberry Pi online.
It does not include a built-in hard disk or solid-state drive, but uses an SD card for booting and long-term storage. The Foundation's goal is to offer two versions, priced at US$ 25 and US$ 35. The Foundation started accepting orders for the higher priced model on 29 February 2012.
Yuh coming on. I had a hard time reading it but ah so mi stay Him confuse mi by mixing computer history with Ja's history in computing. The last wo paragraph is where the meat lies.
First this is typical Jamaican writing; and for a newpaper--it could be made more simple for the (many) readers.
[Few years ago in grad school at NYIT...before we completed our thesis, it was mandatory to do a course in thesis writing. I recalled one of the books used was titled: Presenting Technical Information. The bottom-line is that... simplicity in writing when presenting technical information is most desirable].
Anyway, to the article you posted. The author was merely pointing out Jamaicas' backwardness in keeping up with simple computer/information technology.
"A picture speaks a thousand words". In more developed countries...each of those students would be at a desk with their own computer. (It's time Jamaica becomes developed).
I appreciated the solutions the writer presented at the end. Most (Jamaican) writers just state the problem. Very little is presented as remedy.
BTW: Very good eye Islandman. The author did not see the UWI role as part of the solution.
Good article King Jawge. All the best for you and yours for the New 'ear!!