Port Antonio's Trident Opens After Five Years

Mo I was at gee jam a few months back and spoke to baker. This has nothing to do with either p, although you cold argue the building of the bridge was under the previous admin, I actually said to him that bridge should have been built as a replacement for flat bridge.. But I understand Michael influence strong

You have me puzzled. What yuh talking bout?

Suh Spanish man haffi tell wi wi need fi fix road and runway ?

Why.. suh dem can drop in 3 Monolith pon wi coast line ??

ah wheh di ?!

Your standards are quite low if you are awed by the highway development oddyssy and the returns..

Dem tek suh long dem mek recession innah 2008 lick out critical projects..

Is when Highway start build ?

It is not about awe yuteman...it's about facts. I present the facts...

Since you cannot deal objectively with the facts that don't suit your agenda your fallback is this kind of tangential nonsense..

Gwaan duh yuh ting

You should realize by now that the "tourist arrivals" numbers that Jamaica reports are bogus

Highway and Airport upgrade was a failure.. return on investment based on opportunity window was poor...

The End.

It did win 3 Elections doh...

US$2+ billion in tourism investments in the 6 years pre-recession, 50% increase in hotel room count and removal of time-sucking transport bottlenecks for John Publik all establish that you are profoundly wrong...nothing new in that

The cold hard facts
                Last edited by Don1; December 29, 2012, 03:54 PM.

Their model, implementation and delivery was woefully sub-optimal..

Tourist Investments ??

So you invest in infrastructure and airport at the beckoning of sub-optimal Tourism interests...

"Hey.. what we need are MORE all-inclusives !"

Airport to Hotel and back.. come back again soon !

At least the trip to and from from the Airport is quicker !

lol !

Is you broker dat deal or what ? Muss dat..

The infrastructure upgrades were designed to spur tourism investments.... they succeeded very well at that... Period..Case closed. Next..

Now to the secondary element of of the optimal mix of the type of investment required vs the actual investments generated:

Jamaica is a high crime/high unemployment destination. Consequently Jamaica will tend to attract and also demand mass tourism investments which provide high numbers of unsophisticated visitors ... i.e. those content to spend their vacation warehoused in all inclusives ...people having a low interest in exploring our culture. Fortunately such resorts do generate significant employment relatively quickly.

Until the crime issue is fixed, investments in high end and also community based tourism will be limited...regardless of infrastructure status

The optimal mix for Jamaica at this point is to have a big mass based tourism sector for the employment effect and also big high end & community tourism sectors for the income multiplier effect of spending dollars outside the AIs.

For that to happen Jamaica will need to be perceived as a destination that's safe for people to walk around in....so it's good that the Tivarli Model has been curbed (somewhat) recently thanks to that brilliant MOU...but much more needs to be done
                    Last edited by Don1; December 29, 2012, 05:44 PM.

Mi hear seh Mobay did tun innah one Murder Capital.. while dem was building di Highway..

ah chue ?

Road building good fi elections.. mi guh good school.. mi si true dat con quick.. gwaan drink di cool aid doh...

The best investment in Jamaica would be those that make our tourist towns accessible to Tourists (and mi nuh mean fram di airport) and reduce the crime numbers...

Bettah dem di tek di money and sort out Negril, Ochi, Mobay suh people can walk up and dung ah nightime

When last yuh check out Mobay Hip Strip ?

Yuh nuh hear seh is good school mi guh.. wi sight up di politricks ting from early

Tek a course in Critical Thinking or sumting..

It's obvious that the best outcome for tourism comes from a secure, low crime environment...that is true for the economy & society as a whole.

We need to be relieved of the -6%/year GDP haircut caused by crime and the JLPNP Tivarli Model of disorder .... not just for tourism but for all sectors

tell me how is it "bogus" and what is the difference between it and others?

Please tell me and back it up. I can't bother with the yapping.

ahright.. right aftah wi dun build di road and new runway..