Port Antonio's Trident Opens After Five Years
Originally posted by Assasin View Postthis has been argued so many times before and infrastructure is alway a top of Don1's post. ALWAYS. go and research that yourself in older post.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Crime and ghettoization of tourist towns in Jamaica caused limited investments in the Sector..
Road ?? Airport Modernization ?
How modern is Cayman Highway and Airport ?
Cayman ship docking infrastructure cyaan come close to ours.. dem all get 5 ship a day...
Real comedian to rhatid..
Yep crime and the widespread Tivarli Garrison Model does limit investment
But what enabled the ~US$2B Spanish investment which my post focused on? Crime or Ed Bartlett?? LOLTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
a foolish & transparent red herring...cyaan wuk
Ansa di question posed yutemanTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Ok...yuh cyaan ansa dat question... no worries LOLTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
I am restating what the investor stated in the specific case of Jamaica... A prerequisite for the investment was significant infrastructure upgrades
What the unspecified "country" does or doesn't do as in your post is irrelevant to the instant case of Jamaica
These were profound questions being asked about a country whose development had been stymied by its reputation as a high-crime destination, and by the growing inadequacy of its infrastructure - that was falling below the standards that European and American tourists were accustomed to experiencing at competing destinations.
While the creation of the North Coast Highway, as well as the Great River Water system that ensured reliable potable water supply to hotels, went a long way to address concerns about the investment absorption capacity within the tourism sector, radical crime containment still remained on the country's to-do list.
Jamaica was therefore never going to be an easy sell.
Last edited by Don1; December 28, 2012, 05:45 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
sound like wi was begging... how come ?
The infrastructure upgrades in the Tourist Towns are impressive..
Clap dem !
lol ! woiee !
Sound like ahnedda more cyar, gyal, phone scam.. fortunately mi did guh good school suh mi nuh fall fi dem 3 cyard ting..
Bettah dem did seh dem build 'highway' suh dem can win helection.. mi nuh buy di 'investor requirement' story..
If yuh deh pon a 150 mile long island innah di caribbean and haffi upgrade 120 mile stretch ah road to get 2 Billion in tourism investments over 10 years.. well sumting wrang wid yuh mogel..
ok...now you are off the reservation
all i am addressing is why things happened... I am not performing a cost/benefit analysis
But if you wish that...go ahead. My point is already made
Gots to go ah roadTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
ooh.. sorry I thought you were implying that we needed significant 'Highway' upgrade and Airport upgrade to have a vibrant Tourism returns..
Mi feel is bettah dem did spend di money on social and physical infrastructure in the Tourism Towns..
The infrastructure upgrades were a prerequisite for the wave of investment led by the Spanish chains....that is clear. This resulted in a ~50% increase in room stock in a relatively short period.
The opportunity cost equation of individual infrastructure upgrades is debatable. I like the road, water and airport investments...their value goes waay beyond tourism.
As far as the US$122 million the GOJ borrowed to build a facility for trinket seeking Americans is concerned...that investment has an extremely low value add imho.
For a fraction of that sum we could have revolutionized our entire STEM educationTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
I am not be correct but this is stopover visitors and not total tourist as this doesn't include cruise or one day stop over visitors.
In 1987 or 1988 I was at the cermony to celebrate the arrival of 2 million tourist to the island.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.